Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve had some really great weeks full of ambitious culinary delights. This past week wasn’t one of them.

While I did in fact plan out our meals, they were rather simple and we deviated from the plan every now and again. I didn’t photograph them either because honestly, they weren’t that exciting.

There was one highlight: stuffed turkey burgers, courtesy of Z.

He shredded zucchini and mixed it in with the ground turkey (gotta love hidden veggies!). In the center were fresh tomatoes, basil and goat cheese. Yum! I whipped up some of my favorite sweet potato fries and, since the weather was nice, we headed out to the grill.

Stuffed turkey burger with sweet potato fries

Other dinner creations included:

  • Rotisserie chicken & veggies
  • A cheesy Italian shrimp skillet dish (aka throw together ingredients we had on hand) which turned out fantastic.
  • Lemon-lime tilapia on the grill.

Nothing crazy, but it did the trick.

Now it’s time to plan for the coming week. Z will be busy with National Guard training so his presence at dinner time could be hit or miss. Therefore, since it’s just me, dinners will be simple and straightforward.

Tomorrow I plan on making a big batch of quinoa to use throughout the week as a side dish for chicken, but also in “Quinoa Strawberry Salad.”  I’d also like to make shredded chicken in the crock pot to add to salads for lunch and use in tacos for dinner.

Time to browse the pantry/fridge, make my list, and head to Trader Joe’s!

I want to know…

What is your go-to meal when you just don’t feel like cooking?

Cooking for one can be tricky…any suggestions for a quick and easy dinner idea?

