Tags

,

Let’s face it, we all feel stressed from time to time. Whether it’s work, relationships, finances, life in general, it’s there. April is Stress Awareness Month so it’s time to stop and realize how it may be affecting you and do something about it!Stress Awareness Month--The Adventures of Z and K

As a bride-to-be planning a destination wedding, stress is no stranger in my book. Even in day to day life my to-list seems never ending. In honor of Stress Awareness month, I’ve decided to share with you some of my favorite go-to’s for those times when I’m feeling overwhelmed.

Yoga & Stretching

When else in your day do you stop and focus on just your breathing? Taking time to do so has a wonderfully calming effect. Combine that with stretching and poses and I’m instantly relaxed.

Try these!

Yoga for Relaxation
Bed time yoga

The Benefits of Yoga: Yoga: Fight Stress and Find Serenity (Mayo Clinic)

Music

I’ve recently discovered some great stations on iHeartRadio for times when I want to mellow out:

Sound of the Ocean Radio

Rainforest Escape Radio from iHeartRadio

Beach waves are one of my most favorite soothing sounds. In addition, Rainforest Escape creates a soundtrack of birds singing, water running, all set to soft background music. Ahhhhh….

Music’s Effect on Stress: The Unexpected Stress-Busting Power of Music (Greatist)

Exercise

While being calm and still is great for stress, so is getting up and moving around. Working out increases the production of endorphins (as we all learned from Legally Blonde) the brain’s feel-good neurotransmitters. Personally, when I complete a workout I feel a sense of accomplishment which instantly boosts my mood. There’s no such thing as a bad workout so get up and get moving!

Jillian will help you!

The Benefits of Exercise: Exercise & Stress Relief (Mayo Clinic)

Other

In addition to the suggestions above, here are some other things that may be beneficial:

  • Spending time with family, friends, your pet.
  • Indulging or treating yourself. Maybe an amazing dessert, a good glass of wine, a massage or a mani-pedi.
  • Taking time to stop and truly appreciate what you have.

Stop Smile Breathe Life is Beautiful

No go forward and stress less!’

I want to know…

What do you do when you’re feeling stressed?

