Tags

, ,

Z and I have been talking a lot recently about trying to make the most of life. I know that sounds really broad. What I mean is that we want to have as many unique experiences as we can, explore the city we live in, take opportunities to educate ourselves, discover hobbies, enjoy each other.

Orison Swett Marden Quote

[Inspiyr]

MAKING COMMON OCCASIONS GREAT

In the spirit of this philosophy we have decided to cancel our DISH Network contract and say bye bye to the DVR. GASP!

DISH Network TV Remote

Now don’t get me wrong, I love Modern Family, Parks & Rec, Amazing Race, and Psych, just to name a few.

However, often times Z and I park ourselves in front of the tv from dinner to bed simply out of habit. We’ve started watching shows that we weren’t really interested in just because there was nothing else on.

I read the post “Television Decision” from Julie over at Peanut Butter Fingers and found that I could 100% relate.

According to the NY Daily News, Americans spend 34 hours a week watching tv. This is time that could be better spent going on a walk, reading a book, blogging, etc.

TV

Now I’m not saying we will NEVER watch tv. No no, that would be silly. But seeing as how we never watch TV live anyway, all of our favorite shows are available online, FOR FREE, right after they air.

A PENNY SAVED…

This brings me to my other point: MONEY. In addition to encouraging a “explore your horizons” lifestyle, a reduction in TV time also presents a monetary incentive.

By canceling DISH and going with Netflix + watching shows online + the occasional Redbox, we could save $530 a year. Let me tell you, every little bit helps when you’ve got a wedding to plan!

Le Gallerie St Lucia

LIFE WITHOUT DVR: IS IT POSSIBLE?

I believe so. Z and I plan to spend our evenings in the following ways:

  • Only watching shows that we REALLY want to watch.
  • Educating ourselves with documentaries from Netflix.
  • Reading.
  • Going for a walk.
  • Wedding planning.
  • Blogging.

K and Z walking in park

Here’s to seizing the moment and expanding our horizons!

