Tags

, , , , , , ,

I don’t know about you but I’m loving the “windows open in the house, fresh springtime air coming in” weather. If nothing else it was ideal for running, allowing me to break out the shorts and tank top for the first time this year.

SUNDAY

Appropriately we started the day with some “Spring Opening for Body and Mind” yoga.

Tara Stiles Springtime Yoga

MONDAY

Although we’ve done a ton of these videos by now, this is still our favorite…

Tara Stiles morning yoga for flexibility

Since I didn’t have to be at work until 9:30 we fit in a 40 minute total body circuit from Jillian Michaels “No More Trouble Zones” dvd we had from Netflix. Here’s a small sampling of what this entails…

Jillian Michaels No More Trouble Zones

The key thing about these Jillian Michaels workouts is that they are fast paced. While no one move is done for a long period of time, there is little rest in between. Forty minutes was a long time and I was quite worn out by the end.

TUESDAY

With the stunning mid-80s temps forecasted for the day I started off in good spirits and found a corresponding stretch routine:

Tara Stiles Get Happy Routine

 

I wore my running clothes to work so that the minute I got home Z and I could head out for a run. I forgot how nice it was to not have freezing hands and wear layer upon layer.

It’s been awhile since we’ve done our usual Fells-Canton route!image

We got back and followed it up by making dinner on the grill (any reason to be outside). Hooray for warm weather!

WEDNESDAY

With the run the day before, I was inspired to try a stretch specifically targeting the quads, hip flexors and knees:

Yoga for runners

 

After a week hiatus (spring break) it was back to dance class for me….except not. Traffic on I-95 threw a wrench in that plan. I thankfully was able to avoid what would have been an hour of stop and go by getting off at the nearest exit and heading home.

Since I was already in appropriate attire and wanting some flexibility work, I pulled up a yoga mat and went through this longer stretch routine (NOT Tara Stiles…gasp!).

Bend and Stretch

 

THURSDAY

Even though Thursdays I have to be at work at 6:30, we still make time for a quick morning stretch:

Morning flexibility routine.

 

FRIDAY

The start of my weekend and I slept in until 5:15! Hooray! Before grocery shopping and errands:

Yoga for flexibility.

 

Later that afternoon I wanted some strength training and turned back to Tone It Up for inspiration.

I did 3 sets of 12 for each of the 8 moves demonstrated:

I love these workouts….combining moves so multiple muscle groups are worked at the same time? Genius.

SATURDAY

I was quite productive around the house most of the day that by the time the afternoon rolled around I knew I had to get out of the house and enjoy the sunshine. Instead of driving to Safeway, I ran there! 69 and sunny = perfect running weather!

image

Once I arrive back home I did one last yoga stretch (gold star for me for actually stretching after a run!).

Tara Stiles Stretching Routine

As you can see, Z and I are doing a good job of keeping up with our stretching goals. I’ve definitely noticed a difference in my flexibility level throughout the week. A welcome change!

-K

