Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s the last Wednesday of the month and that means the last edition of “WIAW Goes Green.”

This week I’m attempting to follow a Low FODMAP diet and assess the effects on my stomach.  After all, a happy stomach = a happy K. For this WIAW, I’d like to highlight all the good green things I’m eating this week that are FODMAP friendly.

WIAW Cucumber No Low FODMAP

AVOCADO NO NO

A lot of the vegetables that are to be avoided on a low FODMAP diet are ones that I already know bother my stomach. Broccoli, garlic, onion, cauliflower, mushrooms, beans….I wouldn’t touch them with a ten foot pole! Unfortunately one of my favorites, avocado, is also on this list. So sad.

Avocado and pit

Thankfully, there are lots of other veggie options that ARE allowed. While at the store last week I stocked up on the following:

  • Baby spinach
  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Cucumbers
  • Summer squash
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Tomatoes

My Eats

Here is just a sampling of some of the ways I’ve incorporated these approved veggies into my lunches/dinners/snacks.

Baby spinach, oven roasted turkey, quinoa, grapefruit.

Spinach Salad with Turkey, Grapefruit and Quinoa

Taco Salad: Iceberg Lettuce, quinoa, tomatoes, ground turkey, shredded cheese.

020

Brown Rice Pasta w/shredded chicken & zucchini, basil, parmesan cheese. Cucumbers in Balsamic vinegar & pepper.

Rice pasta with chicken, cucumbers, grapes, ginger chews

Celery (Only 1 stick allowed at a time to be Low FODMAP) with almond butter & Almonds.

Celery stick with almond butter and honey almonds

So there you have it…just a sampling.

Trial & Error

Things I’ve discovered:

  • I need to pay attention to the amount of spinach I eat at one time.
  • Cucumbers may be forbidden…

…at least I’m blaming them for the uncomfortable afternoon/evening I had after eating them. My Mom had previously mentioned their reputation for causing upset and I immediately thought back to that. Live Strong informed me that cucumbers contain a compound called cucurbitacin which can cause issues. Ah ha!

Although trial and error is certainly frustrating, being able to pin point which foods I can/can’t tolerate will only help me from here on out.

Regardless,  I think I’ll lay off the cucumbers for awhile…

Now I want to know…

Do you have any good recipes involving the veggies from the list above? I need more creative ideas so please share!

