Tags

, , , ,

March is coming to a close and that means it’s the last week of National Nutrition Month.

http://www.eatright.org/uploadedImages/National_Nutrition_Month/Promotional_Resources/Toolkit/Images/WebBanners_NNM2013(728x90).jpg

In honor of such, I’d like to share with you a funny sounding word with an important function: FODMAPs.

In the epic battle of me vs. my stomach, my stomach always wins. Last year I worked with a nutritionist to try and figure out what foods could be causing me problems. It was then that I first introduced to FODMAPs.

What on earth does that mean? Well, it’s a fancy little acronym that stands for:

Fermentable Oligosaccharides Disaccharides Monosaccharides Polyols

These are short-chained sugars found in food that are poorly absorbed by some people. To put it simply, these molecules do not get broken down in the small intestine but instead get passed on to the large intestine where they act as a food source for the bacteria that normally live there. Once the bacteria are all fed and happy they produce a bi-product which can cause a host of GI issues.

Happy Bacteria Cartoon[source]

By following a diet low or free from these particular molecules, GI issues can be improved. Of course you must keep in mind that every person is unique and may respond differently.

Last week I began reading up on FODMAPs and come across many success stories. People, just like me, who were tired of being uncomfortable and in pain and saw their symptoms diminish by avoiding certain foods.

So I decided that for one week (3/22-28) I will attempt to follow a low FODMAP diet and see how my body responds. What’s good about it is that you don’t have to eliminate any one food group altogether…just make particular choices within each.

So what can I eat?Low FODMAP Diet Good and Bad Foods >> My Week of Low FODMAP eating, The Adventures of Z & K

A week with no apples??? That’s like a day with no sunshine! I consume apples like they’re going out of style. This could perhaps be why my stomach is always bothering me…

K with honeycrisp apples at the Baltimore Farmer's Market

I think I can handle no apples, especially when I get to have all sorts of delicious fruits instead: strawberry, blueberries, melon. All things I never tend to buy simply because Z and I fall into a routine.

What I think may be the most difficult is giving up greek yogurt and cottage cheese. Two of my go-to breakfast/snack options. Going to have to get creative with this one!

Cottage cheese waffles with pear and greek yogurt with pear and cereal

Lastly, no-wheat. I consume a number of whole wheat products and while I don’t necessarily feel like it’s a problem for me, we’ll see what happens when I take it out.

Trader Joe's reduced carb whole wheat flour tortillas

Stay tuned this week for my adventures in low FODMAP eating including grocery shopping, recipes, and results!

I want to know….

What is the one thing you eat right now that would be the hardest for you to give up?

*Information for this post gathered from:*

Low FODMAPs Diet Resources (LowFODMAPDiet.com)

The FODMAPs Approach — Minimize Consumption of Fermentable Carbs to Manage Functional Gut Disorder Symptoms (Today’s Dietician)

