Tags

, , ,

This week and next many people are enjoying Spring Break (I’m talking to you Mom). A nice little extended vacation situated around the Easter holiday. Today I’d like to take a trip down memory lane to spring breaks of the past…

When I was little Spring Break meant no school, Easter baskets, and day trips with the fam. In college Spring Break took on a whole other identity– girls gone wild and such. My brother did the whole “beach in Florida with frat brothers” thing one year. I like to believe he behaved himself and they were all perfect gentlemen.

[source]

As for me, my spring breaks were about as tame as could be.

2003

My first college spring break and how did I  spend it?

new york aquarium sign

Yes I’m a nerd. I like science and animals and oceans. The end.

2004

Easter was spent dying eggs in my dorm room with my friend Angela.

fear the turtle egg

2005

While some coeds were tanning-it-up on the beaches of Florida, this was my view in New York:

snow

I did get to see my brother in the High School’s Spring Musical, Into The Woods.

singing kevi

2006

Another year, another Aquarium. This time Mystic Aquarium Connecticut. I really know how to live it up, huh?

m-1-penquinsm

As you can see, no booze, no bikinis….not my style. I should have gotten this shirt to commemorate:

Funny Spring Break t-shirt

[source]

Even though I didn’t have what most people consider the “traditional” college Spring Break experience, they were fun for me. I got to spend time with my family who was otherwise 5 hours away, reconnect with friends, and take trips to see things I was interested in. That’s more my speed.

heather me kristina edited

Now I want to know…

Did you ever have a wild & crazy spring break? 

