Tags

, , , ,

I know, I know, “What I Ate Wednesday” is supposed to about “Going Green” this month and carrots are certainly not green. Peas and Crayons

However I’m interpreting this month’s theme to be about incorporating more veggies altogether and carrots certainly fit the bill. Especially when I had ten pounds of them to use up (thanks Costco).

While trying to figure out how I could possibly use up the insane amount of carrots I had, I came across a recipe from No Sugar Sweet Life that I thought could be perfect.

No Sugar Added Carrot Cake Mufins

A big selling point was the fact that it required two cups of shredded carrots. I figured I could go through a good portion of the bag with that type of requirement.

010

The Recipe

CARROT CAKE MUFFINS

As adapted from No Sugar Sweet Life
Makes 12 muffins.

Ingredients

2 cups of shredded carrot/
3 1/2 ounces no sugar added applesauce
1⁄2 cup rolled oats
1 1⁄3 cup spelt flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1⁄2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1⁄8 cup honey
6 ounces homemade pear yogurt (plain greek yogurt blended w/ 1/2 pear & stevia)
2 flax eggs (2tbsp ground flax + 6tbsp water)
1⁄4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
optional: honey roasted almonds

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Shred carrots (2 cups worth can take awhile!).
  3. Add all ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.
  4. Place liners in muffin tin.
  5. Fill cups with equal amounts of mixture.
  6. Bake for 50 minutes.
  7. Remove from oven and let cool.

The Process

I started by gathering necessary ingredients.

Carrot Cake Muffin Ingredients

I played around with a few things…

First: the yogurt. The recipe called for a container of pear chobani, but 6oz has 19g of sugar! Therefore I made my own by combining plain 0% greek yogurt with 1/2 of a pear and 1 package of stevia in the raw. All-natural, “evaporated cane syrup” free!

003

Next: the egg. The recipe called for 2 eggs but as I’ve mentioned they often times bother my stomach. I had seen “flax eggs” popping up in recipes before and decided to give it a try. A flax egg is made by combining 1tbsp ground flax with 3tbsp water and can be used in place of regular eggs.

I combined all the ingredients into a large bowl and then placed the mixture into a lined muffin tin.

013

Due to the substitutions I made the cooking time was longer than what was originally called for, 50 as opposed to 30 minutes.

I topped the muffins with honey roasted almond slivers from Trader Joe’s…love those things!

023

The Verdict

Tasty, but not yet perfected.

If you are looking for a dessert like “cake” then this isn’t it. You could certainly makes adjustments to the recipe if you wanted it to be so. Instead it is a moist-carroty goodness.

I was hoping the inside of the muffin would be a bit more solid. In the future I would consider adjusting the amount of wet ingredients and see if that helps.

Also, and most importantly, be cautious of the liners you use. The ones I used seemed to cling on for dear life to the muffin so be sure to use a well oiled tin or silicone liners. The situation improved once they had sat in the fridge overnight.

026

The Numbers

I have a few friends that are using My Fitness Pal & Spark People so here are the estimated nutritional stats based on the ingredients list.

A muffin with only 4g of sugar?! Hooray!

Side Note: I can tell you from personal experience, these go really well crumbled on top of vanilla Greek yogurt.

There you have it. K’s adventures in baking. Becoming domestic, one recipe at a time…

I want to know…

Carrot cake: love it? or hate it?

It’s rare for someone to say “carrot cake!” when asked what their favorite dessert is (besides for our family friend Pam). I feel like it’s something people either REALLY enjoy or don’t like at all. Thoughts?

