Tags

, , , ,

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! For those who may have overdone it slightly on the celebrations this weekend, here are some ideas to get active and release those toxins! Perhaps a stretch? A easy bodyweight workout?

My activities this past week involved lots of SCUBA and stretching….my favorites!

Sunday- Total Body & Stretch

Z was away at National Guard drill so I was left to my own devices. I can never pass up an opportunity for some stretching so I started with this:

An easy stretch routine!

Once limbered up I did three rounds of the “Love Your Total Body” routine:image

Monday- SCUBA

My morning started off with some underwater power scrubbing…40+ minutes of it to be exact. The scrub machine is quite the beast and drained my energy quickly.

Tuesday- Walk

The weather was beautiful! It would have been perfect for a run….except my body had other ideas. I just wasn’t feeling 100%. In order to take advantage of the sunshine, Z and I went for a 2 mile walk to/from the new Under Armor Brand House in Harbor East. I used self-control and didn’t buy a thing (pat on the back for me!).

image

Wednesday- Dive & Dance

Another morning in the pool….this time for an hour and a half! Ever since I discovered the wonder of a 7mm wetsuit long dives like these are no problem. I stay nice and toasty!

That evening it was back to dance, after a week hiatus thanks to the snowstorm that wasn’t. We started new choreography to “Goody Two Shoes” which I was able to find on YouTube:

Thursday- Partner Workout & Stretch

Tone It Up had posted a “Grab a Friend” partner workout which I thought could be fun for Z & I to do.

The cardio intervals between exercises were a great way to get the heart rate up. After two times through we took some time to stretch and repeated the same “Stretch & Release” routine from earlier in the week. Z and I both agreed that we need to make more time to stretch all throughout the week.

Friday- Body Weight Workout

Upon first glance this looked relatively simple. No weights? Easy!

This workout I’d call pilates-inspired and focused on smaller, fine-toning movements such as leg pulses. I can feel it in my lower extremities this morning!

image

Saturday- Run

We met up with our 8K Training Group for another run around Hopkins.

I decided to get a bit festive with my attire.

image

We took a fun route which took us through Johns Hopkins University, Loyola University, ritzy Baltimore neighborhoods as well as parks/trails/stairs. It was a lot of fun and thankfully the rain held off!

IMG_20130316_104715_347

We totaled 3.57 miles and I felt great! The pace was a bit slower than usual and there was some starting/stopping to wait for other group members but I think that’s going to be the key for me in terms of increasing my distance.

image

Only two more group training runs before the race!

I want to know…

What was YOUR favorite workout of the past week?

