Tags

, , , , , , , ,

All this month, What I Ate Wednesday is “Going Green,” asking bloggers to share their most recent green eats.

Peas and Crayons

I had a pinned a recipe awhile back that I knew I just had to make for this occasion…

Green Goddess Grilled Cheese

The recipe comes from TasteSpotting.com. Their suggested combination of avocado and goat cheese won me over from the start.

There was only one problem: I did not have the appropriate type bread for grilled cheese. Pitas? Check. Wraps? Check. Small dense rice bread? Check. Sandwich making bread….nope.

Improvisation was the name of the game. I just had to come to terms with the fact that mine would not look as pretty as the ones on the website. As long as the flavors are there, who cares?

The Recipe

The layers included:

  1. Bread (I went with a whole wheat pita. Z decided on an open-faced option using the gluten-free brown rice bread.)
  2. Homemade basil pesto
  3. Mild cheese (I went with muenster, the recipe suggested mozzarella.
  4. Avocado & baby spinach
  5. Sprinkle of goat cheese (not shown).

Green Goddess Grilled Cheese Steps

The Pesto

Before I go any further I need to highlight one of my favorite parts….the basil.

021

Simply Recipes had a tasty sounding “fresh basil pesto” which I was going to make but instead opted for a simple basil, olive oil, salt and pepper combination.

I threw some into a ice cube tray (hearts or clovers?) and stuck it in the freezer to use in the future.

020

Ok, back to the sandwich…

The Result

A couple of minutes on a skillet and voila!

040

The Verdict

AMAZING! The flavor combinations were out of this world. I actually really like it on the pita! It ensured the bread did not overpower all the good stuff in the center.

We served it alongside Peanut Butter Fingers “Crock Pot Carrot Ginger Soup.”

041

Grilled cheese and soup. A perfect combination!

I want to know…

What’s your favorite grilled cheese combination? Do you stick to the classics? or add lots of additional layers?

