Tags

,

Last week I was I received a “Liebster Award” from fellow blogger, Heather at Fit ‘N’ Cookies.

What on earth is it you ask? Well I wondered the same thing….

The word “liebster” in German means “dearest.” Ultimately it’s not an award but rather a way to recognize and connect with fellow bloggers.

The concept is simple: you pose 11 questions to up and coming bloggers you enjoy, they answer the questions and recognize their favorites by passing it along. Very chain-letter-esque.

The real “gist” of the Liebster Award is that there is no real award. There are no judges, no special rules. No website with an official team to congratulate you and hold your hand. It’s mostly what you want it to be. If you receive the award, you can 1) accept it and 2) pass it along (source).

Regardless of the origin, rules or guidelines, I thought it’d be fun to answer the questions that Heather posed for me.

Without further adieu…

Ice cream or frozen yogurt?

Frozen yogurt (but I rarely eat it). There is the occasional Arctic Zero after-dinner treat however.

011

If you could do anything you wanted without any fears, what would you choose and why?

Travel and live all over the world with Z as he continues his military career.

010

Workout in the morning or at night?

In the summer time I’m all about morning workouts. Lately it’s been late afternoon, early evening. That way I get view like this on my runs:

11-10 Run

What’s your favorite way to relax and why?

Honestly I love making a delicious dinner and curling up in front of the tv with the dvr/Netflix.

DSC00346

Have you always been into exercise? If not, when did you start?

I certainly have not always been into exercise. Sure, I grew up taking multiple dance classes every week but up until a few years ago “working out” was not in my repertoire. There was a time when running 5 minutes was challenging for me.

My source of inspiration finally came when Z left for his year-long deployment. I took that time to focus on myself and getting in shape was a goal I always had. I increased my running and even starting strength training (weight lifting?? I would have never thought).

Now a days exercise is something that Z and I do together. We enjoy mixing it up with a variety of running, weight lifting, and group classes (yoga, zumba, etc.)

070

Do all of your family and friends know about your blog? How’d you tell them?

I’d say so. My parents and immediate friends were the only ones reading this for quite some time! Ultimately that’s who I started writing it for—my parents are 5 hours away, my brother 10, Z’s parents are now in Iowa. I wanted to keep them informed about our adventures here in Baltimore and all the wedding planning that would be following.

Over the past nine months this blog has allowed me to truly discovered my passion for health/fitness/nutrition and share what I’ve learned with my friends and family. I may not necessarily openly chat about it with every single person I come in contact with, but if they’re friends with me on Facebook then they know.

081

Are you an early morning riser, or do you like to sleep in and stay up late?

Early riser. I’ve been known to wake up before 5 am on my days off (sidenote: I also go to bed at 9pm). I’m MUCH more productive in the morning so will sacrifice staying up late in order to do so.

012

Favorite breakfast cereal,even if it’s not the healthiest?

I used to be obsessed with Banana Cheerios. These days we almost always have this Trader Joe’s creation on hand.

004

If you could eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?

No contest…the love of my life. Although nut butter would be up there on the list.

062

What’s the scariest thing you’ve ever done?

One of the most nerve-racking was traveling 20 hours by myself to visit Z on deployment. Spanning two continents, a confusing German airport, topped off with lost luggage, I somehow made it to Cairo.

071

How many days a week do you workout?

It varies but minimally we aim for one run and two strength training days a week. In addition I have a jazz dance class every Wednesday and SCUBA diving at work. I feel best when I’m active!

KZ vday workout 5

There you have it! Thanks for the fun activity Heather!

Stay tuned as I brainstorm some questions and pass on the challenge!

I want to know…

Were you the kind of person who would fill out email chain letters? Or simply hit delete?

I totally got in to them and would fill them out all the time!

