Tags

, , , , ,

//
It took me almost a full hour yesterday to compile a meal plan for the week. Although not a short process, thanks to my “Dinner For Two” Pinterest board I have a lot of delicious sounding meal ideas in mind.

I thought I’d share my favorite recipe from this past week. One that truly surprised me in both simplicity and taste.

Pumpkin Mac and Cheese- The Adventures of Z and K

I stumbled upon this recipe on the blog, Meals and Moves. Janeetha took a classic fast food meal, chicken tenders and mac and cheese, and doctored it up to create a much healthier version.

You can use the link above to take you to the actual recipe, but here are the basics:

STEP 1: Create cheese sauce. There are only TWO ingredients—pumpkin puree and cottage cheese. Doesn’t get much more simple than that!

Pumpkin Mac & Cheese- sauce

STEP 2: Mix sauce into cooked pasta. Top with shredded cheddar cheese (I only had slices so ripped them up into small pieces and scattered throughout). You could also top with breadcrumbs if so desired. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

Pumpkin Mac & Cheese- baking dish

STEP 3: Cover with foil and bake at 350 for 15 minutes.

Two Ingredient Pumpkin Mac and Cheese

STEP 4: Eat!

Two Ingredient Pumpkin Mac and Cheese

THE VERDICT: Oh my gosh….amazing! The texture was spot on to classic mac & cheese. I found that the taste of pumpkin lingered slightly but the cheddar topping balanced that out. I reheated some for lunch the next day and found it even better with the flavors having more time to merge together.

I also prepared some panko-coated chicken tenders….

Homemade Mac and Cheese and Chicken Tenders

…and rounded it out with a side salad.

Romaine cucumber and sunflower seed salad

This just goes to show you that in the world of healthy eating you don’t have to sacrifice comfort foods…they just need a little tweaking.

I want to know…

What’s your favorite “comfort food”?//

