Tags

, , ,

It’s Wednesday again! That means it’s time for “What I Ate Wednesday!”

Over the weekend I did lots of cooking and baking of recipes that I’ve been meaning to get around to for awhile now. All of them were absolutely delicious and I can’t wait to share them with you!

I thought I’d start with one of the most interesting concept recipes: eggplant “noodles.”Make Your Own Eggplant Noodles

I saw this recipe on Sarah Fit and she first saw it on The View a few years back (“Alton’s Good Eats: Eggplant Pasta”).

Regardless of who makes it the concept is similar: thinly sliced, sautéed eggplant is used as a replacement for carb-loaded pasta. This sounded like an interesting concept so I gave it a try.

Make Your Own Eggplant Noodles

STEP 1: Peel eggplant and slice into thin strips.

151

STEP 2: Heavily salt eggplant (doing so draws out moisture and bitterness). Leave on cooling rack over a dishtowel for 1-2 hours. Usually the longer the better but if you don’t have that kind of time, no worries.

164

STEP 3: Pour eggplant into a colander and rinse thoroughly (yes, Jenna…this means you). Transfer to a heated skillet with a drizzle of olive oil. Saute until “pasta-like.”

187

STEP 4: Add in sauce, if desired. We went with Trader Joe’s pizza sauce.

189

STEP 5: EAT! We topped ours with homemade turkey meatballs.

196

The Verdict: Absolutely delightful. It tasted like a wonderful, lightened-up, eggplant parm. The texture, while not identical to pasta, still gave you that feeling. A great low-carb all veggie pasta alternative!

Today I’d like to know….

What’s your favorite use for eggplant?

