Tags

, , , ,

Recently, my Mom traveled down from the great state of New York to take me wedding dress shopping. Knowing that she’d only be in town for a short time, I lined up three appointments with the hopes of finding a dress within those 48 hours.

Appointment #1: The Bridal Boutique- Columbia, MD

I came across The Bridal Boutique during a Google search on top Maryland bridal shops. From their website it appeared as though they had a decent selection so I went ahead and scheduled an appointment. A few days later at my dental appointment, my hygienist told me she had recently gotten her dress from there and highly recommended it. Perfect!

The minute we walked in we were warmly greeted by our consultant, Jeannie. She was upbeat and bubbly and made me feel instantly at ease. She asked what it was I was looking for and instantly began pulling dresses she thought I might like.

The Bridal Boutique Consultants Jeannie

Once we had gathered six or so it was time to start playing dress up. The first dress was like nothing I had ever seen. Certainly not what I was picturing and I couldn’t help but be mesmerized. Mom felt the same way. Not a bad for the first one! Jeannie had me rate all of them on a scale from 1-10. I gave the first dress an 8 which was a tough number to beat.

From there the dress numbers ranged from a 5 to a 7.5. Some of the dresses were just too heavy and having been to St. Lucia already I know the humidity situation. Others just weren’t “me”.

Jeannie was great in actively listening to all of my feedback and attempting to help me navigate what I actually want vs. what I thought I want.

After an hour and a half I left with two dresses that I really enjoyed. Lots to think about.

Appointment #2: Sub-par

The minute we walked into the salon I was less than impressed. The consultant lacked enthusiasm, was very much pressuring me to buy one of their dresses and at one point even said, “can you picture yourself getting married in this dress?…because you don’t look very excited.” Ummm, yeah, not helping.

Moving on…

Appointment #3: Betsy Robinson’s Bridal Collections-Baltimore, MD

We arrived on a Saturday to busy busy shop. Brides galore! Not only was in the middle of the day on a weekend but they were in the middle of a sample sale too. 019

Shortly after arriving we were ushered back into our own spacious dressing room. I liked the fact that I didn’t have to leave the room at all during the process….they had a pedestal right there!

017 - Copy

My consultant was pleasant and let my Mom and I browse the racks while also pulling dresses herself. Included were the two I had liked from the first appointment…figured it wouldn’t hurt to try them on again!

016

(Not my dress.)

Long story short there were many dresses: some good, some bad, some only ok. Ultimately I narrowed it down to three that I really liked. I needed to stop thinking about it for awhile and see if there was one that stuck out in my mind or one that I kept coming back to.

After taking this week to think about it and showing pictures to friends (their subsequent reactions included) I feel as though I’ve decided!

This is only the tip of the ice berg though. I haven’t even begun to consider accessories…

020

This wedding stuff is hard! Only nine more months to figure it out. Better get busy!

I want to know…

How many wedding dresses did you try on before finding the right one?

