Tags

, , ,

Happy Saturday! You’re probably starting off your weekend and probably getting hungry for breakfast. Therefore I should probably share a quick and easy pancake concoction that I threw together yesterday.

Egg-Less Pumpkin Pancakes breakfast recipe from the adventures of z and k

The recipe was inspired by Peanut Butter Fingers “Pumpkin Protein Pancakes.”

My challenges:

  1. Can they be made without the use of old-fashioned oats? (We ran out and all I had was instant packets of the flavored stuff).
  2. Can they be made without the use of egg? (My stomach frowns upon them.)

The answer to both of these questions: yes!

Egg-Less Pumpkin Pancakes

Makes ~6 mini pancakes

  • Prep time: 5 minutes
  • Cook time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup instant oatmeal (I used approximately 1.5 cinnamon sugar packets)
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • coconut oil (~1/2 tsp, I didn’t measure exactly just wanted a bit to bind everything together).

Directions:

  • Coat pan with a small amount of coconut oil and heat to a medium heat .
  • Combine all ingredients in a a food processor until fully mixed.
  • Pour batter onto the warm pan and create whatever sized pancakes you desire (I like them tiny!).
  • Allow to cook until edges start to harden, about three minutes.
  • Flip pancakes and allow to cook two more minutes
  • Top with syrup, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, etc.

Egg-less pumpkin pancakes

Egg-Less Pumpkin Pancakes Breakfast Recipe from the adventures of z and k

The Verdict: Excellent! It’s been so long since I’ve had pumpkin (why do we only think about it in the fall?!). The pancakes turned out nice and moist despite the lack of egg. The batter was a bit thick but I think that makes for a better pancake myself.

If I were to make this again I would probably double the recipe. I’m a big breakfast eater and three tiny pancakes wouldn’t have held me over. Paired with an apple and chocolate hazelnut butter however and I was good to go.

There are times when I try to alter recipes and fail miserably. But there are times when I alter them and they turn out better than expected. I still have a lot to learn about the ways of food but practice makes perfect!

I want to know…

What do you put on your pancakes? Syrup? Peanut butter? Nothing?

