Tags

, , ,

I just spent the last hour creating a meal plan for this coming week. It’s one of those chores I hate/love at the same time. It ends up being a big puzzle taking in to consideration the following: what shifts am I working, which days will I have the most time to cook, what have I been wanting to make off Pinterest, what foods do we have to use up. Lots to consider!

When it’s all said and done I feel an immense satisfaction knowing that we have a week of healthy and delicious eats ahead.

Last week I took the easy way out and followed the meal plan from my Fresh 20 subscription. It’s been awhile and I like the fact that everything is planned out for me and use similar ingredients, therefore making shopping a breeze!

Here’s what it included:

FRIDAY- Asian Kale & Salmon Salad

Recipe Source: Iowa Girl Eats

The Verdict:  My Mom was visiting and I know salmon (let alone kale) is not something she makes at home so I thought  we’d treat her. The salad was full of tasty ingredients: cucumber, carrot, orange and almonds all topped with a homemade dressing. A definite win!

009

SATURDAY- Zucchini Crust Pizza

Recipe Source: Kalyn’s Kitchen

The Verdict: As I posted on Wednesday this second attempt was better than the first.

063

SUNDAY- Mediterranean Lemon Chicken + Salad

Recipe Source: The Fresh 20

The Verdict: This week’s Fresh 20 meal plan was all about Mediterranean flavors. It was a nice change of pace and made me realize how much I enjoy the combination of cucumber, feta and dill. 019

014

MONDAY- Oven Roasted Dijon Salmon

Recipe Source: The Fresh 20

The Verdict: Wow this was good! Salmon topped with dijon mustard and dill, baked for 15 minutes. So simple. So good.

007

TUESDAY- Chicken Gyros

Recipe Source: The Fresh 20

The Verdict: This recipe called for using leftover chicken from Sunday’s meal, combining it with cucumber, tomato and feta, and mixing in some greek yogurt and dill. Just like that you have a quick and easy gyro!

022

WEDNESDAY- Cheeseburger Quesadillas

Recipe Source: Iowa Girl Eats

The Verdict: Every Wednesday. Like clockwork.

009

THURSDAY- Italian Turkey & Quinoa Skillet

Recipe Source: My own mind.

The Verdict: A-MAZING. Usually on Thursdays Z and I take a look in the fridge and see what we have to use up before heading to the store the next day. This meal was a result of that and boy was it fantastic. 013

In a large skillet I put:

    • 1/2 lb ground turkey
    • leftover quinoa
    • roasted red pepper
    • roasted zucchini
    • mozzarella cheese
    • pizza sauce
    • fresh basil
    • oregano

I cooked for three or so minutes, just enough to get everything warm and the cheese melty. By simply piling in things from the fridge I was able to create a dinner entrée featuring most of the major food groups and the best part…only three minutes and one dish required.

Now it’s time to head out to Trader Joe’s. These days I simply cannot bring myself to shop anywhere else. Happy Friday to you all!

I would like to know…

What is your favorite Mediterranean-inspired dish?

