Tags

, , , , , ,

My last wedding planning update was mid January. As February comes to a close I thought I’d reassess my progress on the to-do list. Here’s what I’ve got…

Secure the Venue: DONE

The deposit is in, our dates are booked, the villa is ours.

Le Gallerie Villa St. Lucia

Save the Dates: ALMOST DONE

 I found a design that I liked on Etsy. The shop owner has been a pleasure to work with. She was very prompt in responding to my emails and worked with me to tweak the design to just what I was looking for.

While my Mom was here this past weekend I used her superior penmanship for the addresses. Just need some stamps and they’ll be good to go.

St. Lucia Destination Wedding Save the Dates

Hire a Wedding Planner?: Don’t think so.

I contacted the planners at Awesome Caribbean Weddings to see what it would cost for them to handle the details for me.  They responded back saying that they would do the ceremony and leave the reception to the villa owner, Barb. Reading over the details they wanted close to $3,000….and that was just for the ceremony!

image

Despite being across the pond in the UK, I was able to call Barb last week and she assured me that she has had a number of weddings at her villa and will be able to take care of most of the details for both the ceremony AND reception herself. Legal requirements, chair rentals, flowers, and food…she has contacts for all of these! She insisted that I would not need to bother with the wedding planners.

Add Some White to my Wardrobe:

My Mom drove down from New York last Friday for two days of dress-shopping. I had three separate appointments I was able to narrow it down to three different dresses. I’m planning on dedicating a whole post to my dress shopping experience but I’ll just say that after taking time to think about it I feel as though I may have decided. Stay tuned…

Betsy Robinson's Bridal Collection Maryland

Updated To-Do List:

  • Send save-the-dates
  • 100% decide on dress
  • Research/contact/decide on photographer

I’m definitely in a better place in terms of wedding planning. I think the dress shopping made it feel a little more real. I’ve just got to take it one thing at a time so as not to get overwhelmed. I’ve still got 9+ months to figure it all out. Pleeeennnnnntttttty of time….I hope.

