Tags

, ,

Recently I came across a recipe for “Paleo Almond Muffins” courtesy of Blogilates.com. The selling point for me? A short ingredients list (aka my kind of baking).

Paleo almond muffins

You can follow the link above if you’re interested in the exact recipe, but here’s what I did:

The recipe features one of my new favorite ingredients: almond meal. It’s very versatile and used in place of flour (a great option for anyone with gluten intolerances).

Trader Joe's Almond Meal

STEP 1: Combine the following ingredients into a large bowl—almond flour, bananas, almond butter, pumpkin pie spice, sea salt.

The recipe called for egg as well but my stomach doesn’t seem to tolerate it too well so I went ahead and omitted it.

Paleo Almond Muffin Ingredients

STEP 2: In order to experiment with different flavors, divide the mixture between six muffin liners, filling only half way. Then add whatever fillings you fancy. Here’s what I came up with…

Blueberry and walnut almond muffin ~The Adventures of Z & K

Coconut almond and shredded coconut almond muffin

Raspberry and dark chocolate almond muffins

STEP 3: Fill cups the rest of the way with the mixture. Add garnish on top if you so choose.

Paleo Almond Muffin recipe

STEP 4: Bake for 10-15 minutes. Let cool for 10 more.

Paleo Almond Muffins  ~The Adventures of Z & K

STEP 5: Eat!

Paleo Almond Muffins  ~The Adventures of Z & K

THE VERDICT: So so so so good! They were small, but mighty. I enjoyed the stratification of flavors (as you can see above). The filling layer was fun and I think my favorite was the raspberry dark chocolate (of course).

I didn’t really miss the egg in the recipe. Perhaps they would have been fluffier but I liked them just the way they were.

These were the perfect snack for throwing in my lunch box and taking to work! I highly recommend! I’m already starting to brainstorm additional flavor combinations…hmmm…

Now, I want to know…

What is your favorite flavor of muffin? Any filling/topping suggestions you think I should try for my next batch?

