Tags

, ,

Today’s word in the “Love Your Health” Challenge: balance.

http://goodoledaze.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/picmonkey-collage8.png

I decided that a good way to honor this word would be to share a fun dinner idea that Z and I made recently that takes the taste of an indulgent meal and balances it with a healthy veggie base.

Chicken Parmesan Zucchini Boats

I used a recipe I had pinned from Proud Italian Cook as my inspiration:

STEP 1: Starting with a large zucchini, chop off ends as well as a thin layer on the bottom to ensure they stay upright.

014

STEP 2: Scoop out middle with a spoon.

015

STEP 3: Brush with a mixture of olive oil, salt & pepper. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.  018

STEP 4: Fill your boat with passengers!

Zucchini boat prep

STEP 5: Place under broiler until cheese is nice and melty.

034

THE VERDICT: Delicious and filling. All the flavors of your classic chicken parm were there but were balanced out by a lighter zucchini base as opposed to pasta. I will definitely make this again in the future.

P.S. This was the meal that Z and I had for Valetine’s Day. A tasty meal, roses, wine…annnnd Modern Family. That was our big night!

038

