Tags

, , , , , ,

Today’s word in the “Love Your Health” Challenge: dedication.

http://goodoledaze.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/picmonkey-collage8.png

This comes at a good time because it’s also “What I Ate Wednesday” over at Peas & Crayons. Eating healthy day after day isn’t hard, but it does require dedication. It comes down to a commitment to care for your body by fueling it with good-for-you foods.

Here are my recent healthy eats that I’ve been pretty proud of:

Breakfast

Waffles! My favorite! Why is breakfast just so good?!002

Two Vans whole grain waffles. One with cottage cheese, pear, coconut almonds & chia seeds. One with almond butter, banana & chia seeds. All sprinkled with pumpkin pie spice.

AM Snack

In the mornings I’ve had two go-tos:012

My recent attempt at baking: Banana-Almond Muffins (more on this recipe later!)

006

Blue Diamond coconut & mocha flavored almonds with cereal.

Lunch

I’ve been all about my three-compartment container recently… 010

Into the salad: romaine, granny smith apple, pecans, 1/2 medjool date, 1/2 breast of greek yogurt-covered chicken, 100% apple juice as dressing. On the side: clementines and animal crackers (of course).

007

Onto the sandwich: turkey, goat cheese, avocado, tomato, romaine. On the side: clementines, carrots & raw almond butter.

PM Snack

The afternoons have been pretty busy lately so I grab whatever I can. I’ve been packing a Larabar most days for quick snack. 037

Dinner

My favorite dinner this week: homemade zucchini crust pizza! Although the recipe was not a complete success (I accidentally forgot an ingredient and then put it under the broiler a bit too long) it was still mighty tasty.

038

Zucchini crust pizza with sauce, mozzarella, sundried tomatoes and fresh basil.

Dessert

Just like with breakfast, Z and I rarely deviate from our favorite dessert option. A warm treat for these chilly nights: s’mores!

011

Trader Joe’s cinnamon grahams, marshmallow, dark chocolate.

Hmmm, I think I may need to come up with more healthy dessert options (I know that sounds like an oxymoron).

What is YOUR favorite after dinner sweet treat? I think it’s time for me to branch out so leave suggestions in the comments below!

