Tags

, , ,

One of the first healthy living blogs I started following was “Keeping Up With Katie.” Katie’s tagline is: “redefining what it means to be healthy and happy.” After undergoing a 50 pound weight loss she blogs about maintaining a healthy lifestyle all while balancing school, work, a dog, formerly wedding planning…now becoming a wife.

Katie is always very positive and inspiring and this month she presented a “Love Your Health” Challenge, encouraging others to write posts or share pictures detailing the ways you are dedicated to your health.

Keeping Up with Katie Love Your Health Challeng

So I thought it would be fun to play along this week! Today’s word: well-being.

I actually find it hard to pin point what this word means to me. There are so many facets and things that contribute on a daily basis. So I turned to Dictionary.com. They define it as,

“a state characterized by health, happiness, and prosperity.”

That being said, these are the things that make me feel healthy, happy and prosperous…

Eating good-for-me foods. Lots of fresh fruits and vegetables, lean proteins, whole grains and healthy fats keeps my stomach in a state of well-being and keeps me fueled and energized each day.citrus salad

Staying active. Lifting weights, running, dancing, diving…I enjoy trying new and different ways to challenge myself.

k and z running

K dance class

Being surrounded by good friends. They are there for support, advice, laughs and good times.

K Denise and Jenna Halloween

K and Z dinner party

Being loved. I’m the planner, he’s the dreamer. Sometimes I need to be reminded that even the best laid plans can change and you just have to go with the flow.

DSC_4854 - Copy

Living downtown. We enjoy our lovely little row home in Fells Point. Three bedrooms, 2.5 baths, and a deck. That’s prosperous in my book.

054 - Copy

Blogging.  Over the past six months I’ve been able to escape from the day to day and exercise my creative side. I’ve rediscovered my passion for photography, design and am enjoying the challenge of teaching myself to navigate the crazy world of social media.

AdventuresofZandKScreenShot

For me, a state of well-being consists of a combination of physical and mental health all while surrounding yourself with good people.

Now I want to know,

What is a major factor in your well-being?

