Tags

, , , ,

Friday night has unofficially been declared “salmon night” in the K & Z household.  Since it’s becoming a regular thing I’ve been trying to find different ways to prepare it.

//
Peanut Butter Fingers has inspired me so far with toppings of Fruit Preserves and BBQ.  Then, last week the Lean Green Bean featured a pecan-crusted variety which looked mighty tasty.

Keeping along those lines I created my own version:

Coconut crusted salmon

We started with a fillet that we picked up at Trader Joe’s, brushed it with olive oil, salt and pepper and placed in a pan to cook.

003

In the meantime I’ve been trying to come up with ways to use up this shredded coconut I’ve had in the pantry.

001

In a ziploc bag I put a pinch of coconut and a handful of coconut almonds (Blue Diamond has THE BEST almond flavors). Beat with a rolling pin until nice and crumbly.

002

Traditionally when making such a dish, you need some sort of adhering agent between the meat and topping. Most often that’s egg. I avoid eggs most days due to stomach irritation, so simply omitted that step. I added the topping on right after it was done cooking, and while it was crumbly and falling off I figure…it’s all going to the same place, right?

006

THE VERDICT: I was very pleased with the results. It tasted nice and tropical (a refreshing change from cold-dark-February). I’ve really been enjoying coconut recently. Wonder what else I could use it in….

Now, I want to know…

What is your favorite way to prepare salmon? Any suggestions? Leave a link in the comments below if you have a recipe you think I should try.

