Tags

, , , , ,

This past week was about using up things that we have in the pantry/fridge/freezer. Maybe you’re hoping to do the same. Here’s what we came up with:

Saturday- Roasted Red Pepper Pizza

Recipe Source: Vegetarian Times
Items I Already Had:
Pitas, roasted red peppers, sundried tomatoes, mozzarella cheese.

The Verdict: I made these the week before (hence the reason why I had the ingredients on hand). I enjoyed it so much that I went ahead and made it again!

020

Sunday- Citrus Salad w/Chicken

Recipe Source: My own mind.
Items I Already Had: Chicken, romaine, quinoa.

The Verdict: This is currently my favorite salad combination— romaine, quinoa, citrus (clementine, orange, or grapefruit), honey almonds and splash of 100% apple juice in place of dressing. Light and tasty.

IMG_20130210_192524

Monday- “Lunch for Dinner:

Recipe Source: My own mind.

The Verdict: My stomach has been upset for most of the week which means the need to alter dinner plans based on how I’m feeling at the moment. By the time dinner rolled around I wanted something rather bland and basic so went with a turkey sandwich on a whole wheat pita with mashed avocado and goat cheese. Add to that an apple on the side and you have a lunch-like dinner.

IMG_20130211_185704

Tuesday- Shrimp Tacos

Recipe Source: My own mind.
Items I Already Had:  Tortillas, homemade taco seasoning.

The Verdict: I went a bit overboard with the lime juice in the homemade guacamole but I love me some lime so didn’t quite mind.

shrimp taco

Wednesday- Cheeseburger Quesadillas

Recipe Source: Iowa Girl Eats
Items I Already Had: Tortillas.

The Verdict: I haven’t quite mastered the quesadilla assembly part yet so this just ended up being more of a cheeseburger taco. Regardless of how you present it, it’s still delicious.

009

Thursday- Chicken Parm Zucchini Boats

Recipe Source: Proud Italian Cook
Items I Already Had:
Chicken, mozzarella cheese, frozen fresh basil.

The Verdict: Z and I didn’t have anything planned for Valentine’s Day dinner. It was a team effort but we came up with the most delicious meal of the week: Chicken Parm Zucchini Boats! They were phenomenal! I’m so glad I froze the fresh basil I bought a few weeks back because it really enhanced the dish.

027

 

Now to contemplate this week’s eats before this afternoon’s trip to Trader Joe’s. I’m craving eggplant so hope to incorporate that some how.

Now I want to know…

Do you have any suggestions for a good eggplant recipe??

