Tags

, , ,

I am engaged to a guy who is anti-Valentine’s Day. Z believes that you should show the person you’re with you love them everyday not just this particular one.

Of course I agree with him. This time of year people spend tons of money  ($17.6 billion this year to be exact) on flowers and chocolates and pricey dinners all because they’re “supposed to.” The things I remember and find the most special are those everyday moments that let me know he’s thinking of me.

Like the time he stopped to get me animal crackers before picking me up from work because he knew I was out of them.

Z in truck with animal crackers

But there’s also the girly side of me. Romance? Love? The color red? I’m all about it!

In fact this time last year I was packing up a “Valentine’s-Extravaganza” care package and sending it straight to Egypt. He can run, but he can’t hide from the holiday!

Valentine's Day deployment care pacakge

valentines day i love you this much pinterest craft

So how then do you balance the differences in opinion?

Well, I simply know that come February 14th I should not expect something like this:

The most expensive teddy bear in the world

But the other 364 days of the year I can expect

Date nights at local restaurants.

Z with margarita

Grilling, even in the pouring rain.

Z grilling in the rain

A constant running buddy.

K and Z running

A handy man with tools.

Z hanging picture

A travel companion.

K & Z with golf cart isla mujeres mx

And most importantly a never ending supply of the following phrases “thank you”, “you are beautiful”, “I love you.”

K & Z engagment picture harbor

Happy Valentine’s Day Z!

Now I want to know…

Do you have any big plans for Valentine’s day? What’s the best Valentine’s gift you ever got?

