Tags

, , , ,

It is time again for “What I Ate Wednesday” a feature hosted by Peas & Crayons encouraging bloggers to share a “day in the life of” in terms of food.

Instead of a single day I decided to focus on a single meal: breakfast!

Breakfast is not only the most important meal of the day in terms of getting your metabolism going and fueling your body, but it is my favorite.

Growing up I was a savory breakfast fan. Egg sandwiches were my favorite. However over the past couple of years as I’ve explored my stomach issues and food sensitivities I’ve found that eggs are food that bother my stomach (most likely due to their high sulfur content). I therefore eat them sparingly these days, which is a shame because they’re delicious.

I’m now on the sweet breakfast bandwagon. I’ve mentioned many a time that Z and I have a few breakfast options that we rotate between and rarely deviate. That is fine by me because I know the options we choose will leave me satisfied and fueled as I start my day.

We have three main options, each having variations of their own:

Greek Yogurt Bowl

Greek yogurt contains ~14g of protein per serving! Not to mention it is full of good-for-your-gut probiotics.  We stick to buying the plain stuff and add toppings/flavoring from there. It’s all about being in control of not only what you’re eating, but how much of it—that’s my strategy especially for sugars.

013

0% plain Greek yogurt (it’s under there somewhere!) topped with 1/2 bosc pear, Kashi Autumn Harvest cereal, sliced honey almonds & chia seeds.

Waffles

My obsession with waffles got started after seeing delicious looking pictures of them from Julie over at Peanut Butter Fingers (a post from April of last year!). Since then I consider them my favorite breakfast option and quickly spread this opinion to Z as well.

Cottage cheese is full of protein, combine that with whole grain waffles and fruit and you have a breakfast recipe for success! However no day is complete without nut butter so we delegate one waffle specifically for this purpose.

057

1 whole grain waffle topped with fat free cottage cheese, Anjou pear, pumpkin pie spice and chia seeds. 1 whole grain waffle topped with raw almond butter, 1/2 banana and coconut almonds.

Oatmeal

Oatmeal is full of fiber which helps you feel fuller longer. We once again use plain and simple Quaker or TJ’s old-fashioned oats and from there add different toppings. By doing so we avoid the unnecessary added sugar found in the flavored instant varieties.

IMG_20130211_064556

Old-fashioned oats, chia seeds, honey almond slices, sprinkle of vanilla stevia. Apple sandwiches with almond butter on the side.

Gosh I love breakfast….

Now I want to know…

What’s the best thing you’ve had for breakfast this week?

