Tags

, , , , ,

Typical gifts around this time of year focus on flowers (don’t last), jewelry (expensive) and candy (not healthy). Why not switch gears this year and give a useful, practical gift?

If your spouse, significant other or special someone is a runner, this is for you! I call it my “For the <3 of Running” gift bag.

for the love of running gift bag

This is an idea that can be customized for any time of year and any recipient. I initially made this for my dear friend Denise for Christmas. I wanted to create a fun collection of cold weather running essentials for her.

THE GIFTS


Feetures! Running Socks

I got these while training for my very first 5K and they have been my favorite since. These socks have stretchy fabric at the arch which hugs the foot and keeps them in place. They also have added fabric at the heel so that they don’t fall down as you run. Most importantly they are super breathable. I ordered them off of Amazon but you can check your local running store as well. Feetures! Brand running socks

Nike Skinny Braided Headband

Nothing’s worse than having those wispy little hairs tickle your face while you’re running. I came across this thick durable headband from Nike and seeing as how it was in Denise’s favorite color I knew she had to have it. Nike braided headband

Lip Smacker Chapstick

Cold weather is tough on the skin. You can cover your hands, your ears, but your lips are left to the mercy of the elements. To keep them protected I threw in a tube of an old school favorite: Lip Smackers. Seeing as how Denise is a baking connoisseur, I went with a vanilla frosting flavor. Lip Smacker vanilla frosting chapstick

Hot Hands and Larabars

Although I’ve never tried it myself I feel as though using body warmers during a cold weather run could be quite pleasant.

I also added in a couple of mini Larabars for fuel. Denise would often times run right after getting off of work so I figured a little snack might be necessary.

HotHands warmers and Larabars

Safety Light

I never realized how much black workout gear I owned until I started running at night. This is quite the hazard, especially running downtown where crossing the street multiple times is necessary. It’s important to make yourself visible. Last winter I picked up a blinking safety light from the biking section of Dick’s Sporting Goods. I clip it to the back of my shirt and away I go. Blinking safety light for running or biking

These are just some ideas. Get creative and think about the person you’re making this for. Maybe they are in need a good pair of running gloves or a headband or hat. The possibilities are endless!

Putting it All Together

Once the gifts were assembled it was time to wrap them. I decided to wrap each separately…I think it’s more fun to open that way!

Using PicMonkey I made fun little labels for each one.

For the love of running gift bag: label ideas

For the love of running gift bag: label ideas

In lieu of a card (I generally avoid them) I found a fun, inspirational photo of Denise from a 5K we ran together and added the caption, “For a runner there is no ‘off-season’.”

For the love of running gift bag: card idea

The Finished Product

Instead of a traditional gift bag, I put everything inside of a reusable lunch tote. You can find these in the $1 section of any craft store. They are much more durable and reusable than your standard variety.

For the love of running gift bag

There you have it! A customizable gift idea for the runner in your life.

Today I want to know…

Have you ever made a themed gift bag/basket? If so, what was the theme?

