Tags

, , ,

Earlier this week I shared with you my recent Pinterest fail. All was not lost however because that same day I was in the kitchen preparing what would be a Pinterest win!

k's no sugar added fresh fruit salsa

The Inspiration

It all started when I was trying to come up with a healthy contribution for a  Super Bowl get-together(Ravens!).  On my “Tastes & Treats” board I came across a fruit salsa recipe which seemed simple to make and full of good-for-you ingredients.

I followed the link and arrived at a blog called “One More Moore.”

One More Moore logo

I used the recipe as a guideline but made some slight changes…most notably eliminating all sources of added sugar. Fruit is sweet enough already!

The Recipe

K’s No-Sugar Added Fresh Fruit Salsa

Adapted from: Annie’s Fruit Salsa

2 kiwis, peeled and diced
1 pink lady apple, peeled, cored, diced
~1/4 cup blueberries, halved
6 strawberries, diced

sliced kiwi

Aim to chop everything into similar sized pieces (that way you get a nice variety of flavors in each bite).

Mix everything together and enjoy!

K's No-Sugar Added Fresh Fruit Salsa

The original recipe included instructions for making your own cinnamon pita chips, if you’re interested.  I took the cheaters way out though and bought them from Trader Joe’s.

K's No sugar added fresh fruit salsa with cinnamon sugar pita chips

Crispy cinnamon pita + sweet fruit = a scrumptious scoop of delight. My co-workers loved it as well!

No Sugar, No Problem

As I mentioned the biggest change I made to the recipe was leaving out the added sugar. Fruit is sweet by nature, so to me it is completely unnecessary.  I omitted  2 Tbsp sugar, 1 Tbsp brown sugar, and 3 Tbsp preserves yet still ended up with a sweet and tasty treat.

If you’re looking for a quick and easy dish to bring to your next get-together, look no further. Hit the produce aisle and you’ll be good to go!

Now I want to know…

Do you have a favorite recipe featuring fresh fruit? If so, feel free to leave a link in the comments section and share. I’m always looking for new recipe ideas.

