Tags

, , ,

It’s Friday which means it’s time to gather recipe ideas for the week ahead. I’ve been craving homemade pizza the past few days so I’m thinking that’s going to need to happen.

In the mean time, here’s what we went with this past week…

SATURDAY: Orange Chicken with Winter Fruit Salad

Recipe Source: Iowa Girl Eats

The Verdict: We had friends over for a dinner party and after having made this the week before and enjoying it so much I made it again. Light and refreshing.

Orange Chicken with Winter Fruit Salsa pomegranate orange kiwi

SUNDAY: Italian Herb Chicken with Quinoa, Cucumbers, Tomato & Feta

Recipe Source: My own mind.

I had originally planned to make an eggplant dish but when I went to slice the eggplant it was discolored and smushy and gross. Into the trash it went along with my lovely meal plan. So…I improvised! I threw together a random assortment of ingredients and created a chilled quinoa based dish with diced chicken (sautéed in olive oil, basil, oregano and pepper), chopped tomato and cucumber and a sprinkle of feta.

The Verdict: I love cold quinoa dishes. The combination of cucumber tomato and feta always makes me think of summer time so it was a nice change of pace. Overall the dish was tasty especially considering I made it on the fly.

(I thought I had a picture of it somewhere but am now coming up empty handed. Create a picture in your own mind.)

MONDAY: Turkey Sandwiches w/ Avocado & Goat Cheese

Recipe Source: FitSugar

The Verdict: A definite win! Easy to throw together, filling, great flavors. I brought the same sandwich for the lunch the next day because I enjoyed it so much. Avocado is great on anything especially mixed with goat cheese which was a new-to-me combination.

turkey goat cheese tomato avocado sandwich

TUESDAY: Pasta with Sautéed Shrimp with Zucchini

Recipe Inspiration: Back To Her Roots
I had come across the above recipe for “penne rosa with shrimp” awhile ago which I sounded good. I didn’t follow the recipe, but instead used it as a inspiration.
The Verdict: Laughing cow light swiss + pasta sauce = creamy decadence without the calories. Try it. You’ll love it.

Chia seed pasta with shrimp zucchini laughing cow cheese and pasta sauce


WEDNESDAY: Cheeseburger Quesadillas

Recipe Source: Iowa Girl Eats

The Verdict: Another Wednesday, another quesadilla. Why are they so delicious? And why do I always forget how good cheeseburgers taste?

Cheeseburger Quesadilla with tomato and pickle and fruit

THURSDAY: Out to Dinner

Location: Red Star (our neighborhood fave)
The Verdict: I typically get the same salad every time I go because it’s just so good. But recently I’ve been on an avocado kick and when I saw that it was included on this California Wrap I decided to go with it. The wrap included grilled chicken, baby spinach, tomato, cucumber and avocado. Normally it’s served with a garlic hummus but that’s a Kerry-Does-Not-Eat food so I had them leave that off. Quite tasty. Not to mention the side salad was probably a better choice than the hoards of sweet potato fries I usually consume (don’t worry, I did steal a few from Z).

California Wrap from Red Star

California Wrap from Red Star, Fells Point, MD.

Now I want to know…

What toppings do you put on your burgers?

Having cheeseburger quesadillas every week makes me think I should consider mixing it up by adding fun new toppings….suggestions?

