Tags

, , , , , ,

Last week I participated in my first “What I Ate Wednesday,”a weekly feature hosted by Peas & Crayons where bloggers highlight a “day in their life” in regards to food. I spend a lot of time planning dinners and pre-packing snacks that documenting it all allowed me the chance to pat myself on the back for the forethought. So here I go for round 2…

Since I work all day and dance all night, today’s eats are not feasible to record. So instead, here’s my version: “What I Ate TUESDAY.”

Breakfast

I actually thought ahead and prepped the night before making a batch of overnight oats. I haven’t made them in ages and in an attempt to get out of the breakfast rut that Z and I find ourselves in I thought I’d give it a whirl.

006

Into the mix went old fashioned oats, plain 0% Greek yogurt, almond milk, vanilla extract and a sprinkle of vanilla stevia. It chilled in the fridge overnight and upon waking I added in some additional almond milk, fresh blueberries and coconut almonds. The portion size looked a tad small at first but I quickly remembered how filling this little combination can be!

AM Snack

The morning at work was a busy one. I barely had time to grab a snack at all, but I did manage to inhale a tasty Larabar amongst it all. They win high marks in my book due to their ingredient list…all things I recognize/can pronounce!

038

Lunch

By the time lunch rolled around I was famished. I used my fancy three compartment tupperware and enjoyed 1/2 turkey sandwich with goat cheese, avocado and tomato, carrot sticks, a kiwi, and of course my animal crackers.

lunch box idea

PM Snack

Lunch did a good job keeping me contently full for most of the afternoon. I knew that Z and I had a run planned once I got off of work and I also knew that running when hungry is not a good combination for me. Therefore I snacked on one of my Morning Glory Muffins for fuel.

020

Dinner

The almost 60(!) degree weather made for a pleasant run but by the time we arrived home I was more than ready to eat. Thankfully, dinner came together in a snap.

013

Spinach chia seed pasta with sautéed shrimp and zucchini, tossed in a mixture of laughing cow spreadable swiss and pasta sauce.

The chia seed pasta takes 3 minutes to cook, that’s it! The combination of laughing cow and pasta sauce is one of my favorites and adds a creamy consistency with far less calories than say your standard vodka sauce.

Dessert

While at Whole Foods on Monday I picked up a little treat: Arctic Zero Cookies & Cream “ice cream.” At 150 calories for the ENTIRE PINT it’s a great low cal dessert option. It’s more an ice as opposed to ice cream but I’m ok with that. The richness of full fat ice cream, frozen yogurt, or gelato has never really worked out so great for my stomach so I don’t go near the stuff. Arctic Zero gives me the same types of flavors without the unpleasant results.

Cookies and cream arctic zero with cherry yogurt covered pretzelsCookies & cream Arctic Zero with dark chocolate chips and cherry yogurt covered pretzels.

Also, I cannot get over how good these cherry yogurt pretzels are! Z and I had picked up raspberry pretzels back in June when we visited The Fresh Market and I have not stopped thinking about them since. When I came across cherry flavored ones this weekend I knew I had to have them.

020

Run out to the store immediately and get some for yourself. You will not be sorry.

Now I want to know…

What is your favorite flavor of ice cream/fro-yo? What about toppings?

