Tags

, , ,

Awhile back I pinned a recipe for “Paleo Morning Glory Muffins” from one of my go-to blogs:

image

I was especially intrigued by the fact that the muffins were made with sweet potato and carrot. So on Saturday, having one lone sweet potato left to use up, I decided to give the recipe a try.

morning glory muffins from adventures of z and k

You can follow the link to get the exact recipe for Tina’s Morning Glory Muffins. I made some alterations here and there, but here are the basics:

STEP 1: Gather ingredients.

I microwaved a small sweet potato for 5 minutes (could have used longer) and then mashed it. In the mean time I measured out the coconut, honey, peeled and shredded carrots and threw together a mixture of nuts that included maple almonds and plain pecans.

Morning Glory Muffin Ingredients

STEP 2: Mix all together. 

To the ingredients above I added cinnamon, vanilla extract, baking powder and almond meal. The recipe called for 2 eggs as well but I went with 1 egg and 1/2 mashed banana to make it more “stomach friendly.”

008

STEP 3: Pour mixture into muffin tin (recipe makes 6) and bake.

My mom had bought me these silicone baking cups a couple years ago and they worked perfectly. Bake for ~30 minutes at 350.

morning glory muffin before baking

STEP 4: Eat!

The verdict: They were fantastic. Light and crunchy with a hint of sweet. Plus there are hidden vegetables! I would most certainly make these again, double the recipe and throw some in the freezer to have on hand. They are a great snack to take to work to tide me over between meals.

morning glory muffin

I want to know…

When was the last time you baked something?