Tags

, , , , , , ,

Brrrrr. This week was a cold one! Temps in the teens definitely influenced my workout motivation, that’s for sure. I don’t enjoy running enough to do it when it’s below 20 degrees out. A week off from running isn’t the end of the world, I suppose. Here’s what I did accomplish…

Tuesday

I knew ahead of time that it was going to be the coldest day of the week so I planned to skip a run and do an indoor cardio/strength combo. At work the day before Jenna was telling me about her Jillian Michael’s DVD and offered to let me borrow it. I’ve always thought she was frighteningly hardcore so I figured we’d give it a try.

jillian michaels 30 day shred dvd

Her workouts are divided up into three levels enabling you to increase difficulty over time. We skipped right to the last level. If we can survive CrossFit I figured we’d be ok with Level 3.

Her workouts are structured around a 3-2-1 system: 3 minutes of strength, 2 minutes of cardio, 1 minute of abs. This circuit is then repeated a total of three times.

It turns out the workout was pretty challenging! A lot of that had to do with the fact that there was little opportunity for rest.

My favorite of the moves: plank row with leg lift. It’s tough, but a great total body toner. Start in a plank position, do a dumbbell row and return to start. Then lift the opposite leg. Repeat on the other side.

Plank Row

[source]

My least favorite: jumping plié squats. My thighs were burning real quick.

plie squat how to

[source]

Overall it was a nice change in pace. In general I find workout DVDs pretty cheesy and this one certainly had its moments. If nothing else it was nice to have someone telling us what moves to do and keeping time.

Wednesday

It was a SCUBA day at work. No 2.5hr dive for me this week though. I was definitely feeling the effects of those jump squats from the night before as I was swimming.

blue and black wetsuit scuba diving

Later that night it was dance time!I know I sound like a broken record but I LOVE the choreography we’re doing right now. We added a bunch to our dance so in order to remember it I’ve been coming home and immediately video taping myself doing it. Then before my next class I review the video as a refresher.

Friday

It was a cloudy and cold day. The snow began falling in the early afternoon and it took all my energy to unwrap myself from the pile of blankets I was under and get a workout in. Off to my Pinterest board for inspiration…

35 minute full body workout from healthyhappierbear

After the first set of jumping jacks I developed a sharp pain in my side. Z and I proceeded to replace them for the duration with one minute of squats, lunges, and a wall sit. Three times through took the full 35 minutes. We were able to work a variety of muscles without over doing it. With my energy level at the time it was just what I needed.

Saturday

A couple weeks ago I saw that my favorite local running store, Charm City Run, was offering a free, “Yoga for Runners” class at their downtown store.

I’ve been telling Z that we really need to go to a yoga class soon…and not a hot yoga, but a relaxing, streeeeeeetching type of yoga. When I saw this for free I immediately signed us up. Unfortunately Z had National Guard duty, so I went solo.

Charm City Run yoga for runners downtown Baltimore

The class started at 8:30 and lasted an hour. The instructor, being a runner herself, led us through a series of postures with appropriate stretches. This involved some great hip, IT band, and lower back work. It felt SO good to not only take a second, relax, and breathe, but to start the day off with a great stretch. I came home ready to start my day and be productive!

