Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s Friday which means meal planning day! As I look to the week ahead, here’s what was on the menu this past week:

SATURDAY: Orange Chicken with Winter Fruit Salad

Recipe Source: Iowa Girl Eats

The Verdict: Loved it! The mix of fruit was to die for. We served it on top of a mixture of romaine/ baby spinach as well as some quinoa thrown in for good measure.

023

SUNDAY: BBQ Salmon with Roasted Zucchini & Quinoa

Recipe Source: Peanut Butter Fingers

The Verdict: A quick and easy way to prepare salmon. All you need to do is throw some BBQ sauce on, broil and you’re good to go! Along with the salmon we had leftover quinoa with roasted zucchini and feta. We also tend to have fruit at just about every meal (what can I say, we love it) so we split a pear between the two of us.

IMG_20130120_190712

MONDAY: Mayo-Free Honey Roasted Chicken Salad

Recipe Source: Iowa Girl Eats

The Verdict: I had made this recipe before so already knew I loved it. It’s a mayo-free chicken salad using Greek yogurt, Dijon mustard and honey. In the mix you add in some red grapes and honey almonds. The result is a wonderfully satisfying salad that you can have by itself (like we did) on a sandwich or even on top of a salad.

IMG_20130121_191452

TUESDAY: Shrimp Tacos with Homemade Guacamole

Recipe Source: Food Figure

The Verdict:
I had planned on making an Italian pasta dish initially but realized at the last minute that we had an avocado we needed to use. I switched gears and decided to make tacos instead (Taco Tuesday is back!). A quick Google search led me to this recipe which won me over the moment I realized I had all the necessary ingredients. The avocado salsa (aka guacamole) hit the spot. I sadly must stay away from guac in most cases due to the onion content, but making your own solves that problem!

007

WEDNESDAY: Cheeseburger Quesadillas

Recipe Source: Iowa Girl Eats

The Verdict: Every Wednesday, without fail. Once again we used ground turkey as the base and added tomatoes, pickles and cheddar cheese…pear on the side.

This week I had mine open-faced:

006

THURSDAY: Use Up Leftovers Night

Recipe Source: Food Figure

The Verdict: We still had half an avocado to use so decided to bring about round two of homemade guac since I enjoyed it so much the first time. This go around I adjusted the measurements a bit and added a super special ingredient:

tequila lime avocado salsa

K’s Tequila Lime Avocado Salsa:
1/2 Avocado
8 Grape tomatoes, chopped in small pieces
1/4 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp lime juice
1/2 tsp tequila
cayenne, salt & pepper to taste

QUESTION OF THE DAY: What meal do you make over and over again and never tire of?

