Tags

, , , , , , ,

“What I Ate Wednesday” is a weekly feature hosted by Peas & Crayons where bloggers highlight a “day in their life” in regards to foods.


I’ve gotten asked before about ideas for healthy snacks as I always make sure to pack some for work each day (I’m known as the Queen of little tupperware to my coworkers).

040

So I thought I’d participate in “What I Ate Wednesday” and share what a typical day for me consists of in terms of eats.

Breakfast

This has hands down become my favorite meal of the day. It’s all about sweet, not savory. There are a few breakfast options that Z and I rotate between. All of them include a protein, grain and fruit in some form.

057

Vans whole grain waffles one topped with cottage cheese and pear, one with sunflower seed butter and banana. Finish with a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice and chia seeds.

AM Snack

I pack numerous snack options when I head to work because I’m never quite sure what I’ll be in the mood for. Ultimately I go for combinations of fruit and a protein. My go-to at work is yogurt with various mix-ins.

033

0% plain Greek yogurt with a sprinkle of vanilla stevia. Fresh blueberries. Honey Almond slivers. Chia Seeds.

Lunch:

Typically involves a protein, veggie, fruit and treat.

036

Leftover salad with chicken, quinoa and winter fruit salsa. Carrot sticks. Animal crackers. Cherry Hershey Kisses.

PM Snack:

A bit more random. On my day off I made Z and I this creation:

005

Whole grain WASA cracker with goat cheese & apricot jam and 1/2 grapefruit.

Dinner:

Protein + veggie. That might be chicken and roasted vegetables. Salmon and a salad. Quinoa with fresh tomatoes and feta.

007

Last night it was shrimp tacos. Marinated shrimp on a low-carb whole wheat tortilla with 0% plain greek yogurt (in place of sour cream), and homemade guacamole. Served with half a tangerine.

Dessert:

My second favorite meal of the day ;)

We go through s’mores like there’s no tomorrow in the K&Z household.  011

Trader Joe’s “Old Fashioned Cinnamon Grahams” crackers and marshmallows. Stick them in the toaster oven at 325 and watch until they get slightly golden (or pop them in the microwave for 7-10 seconds if you’re impatient). Add a piece of dark chocolate for a warm tasty treat.

There you have it! Z and I go through a TON of produce and therefore make weekly trips to the grocery store. Good-for-you food is not something we mind splurging on. There are plenty of other areas in life where we can cut costs. Health comes first!

QUESTION OF THE DAY: What is your favorite meal of the day?

