Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been intrigued by posts on Pinterest with recipes for cauliflower crust pizzas. Sneaking vegetables into the crust itself? Genius!

Cauliflower, however, is not a stomach-friendly vegetable for me so I’ve passed those recipes by. That is until last week when I found a sweet potato variety over on Carrots ‘N’ Cake.

Sweet potato crust pizza

I certainly cannot take credit for this fun creation. So if you’re interested, click on the image below to be taken to Tina’s original recipe.

image

INGREDIENTS

I already had all the necessary spices on hand, that is except for almond flour. It was a bit pricey at the store so I decided to go with the spelt flour (a wheat variety) that I already had open at home.

039

THE PROCESS

STEP 1: Prepare mashed sweet potato.

I used three potatoes that were on the smaller side, baking them in the microwave for 10 minutes.

STEP 2: Combine potato with spices, cheese and egg. Mix to form dough.

044

STEP 3: Spread dough onto a baking sheet, aiming for a uniform thickness. Bake for 25 minutes.

046

STEP 4: Add toppings. The stick back in the oven for 5 or so minutes (until cheese is nice and melty).

We went with:

  • Trader Joe’s pizza sauce
  • 1 yellow squash (tossed with olive oil, pepper, basil…roasted for 30 min)
  • 1 chicken breast
  • 2 mozzerella string cheeses

056

STEP 5: EAT.

067


THE VERDICT

I. LOVED. IT.

The flavor of the crust was a nice change from the everyday standard. I could taste hints of the curry powder and cinnamon which was delightful. On top of that I liked the doughy texture (there’s nothing worse than burnt crust). Plus it was a great way to sneak in some extra veggies without knowing it. Win!

I cannot wait to make this again. Of course it does take some preparation so it will have to be on a night when I have plenty of time, but it’s certainly worth it. I’m thinking about making it a bbq chicken pizza next time around.

