Tags

, , , , , ,

One of my first blog posts was entitled, “It’s beginning to look a lot like…Christmas?” I wrote it on June 25th, at the half-way mark to the holiday and used it as a time to reflect on what I had done in 2012 so far and what I was hoping to accomplish in the upcoming months.

January to  June

In going back and re-reading that post I had listed the following milestones:

  • Z returned home from his year-long deployment
  • Was a Maid of Honor
  • Traveled to Isla Mujeres, MX
  • Moved into a new house
  • Took part in my first dance recital in 8 years
  • Celebrated our 2-yr anniversary

Those were all pretty great things! So what did I do the rest of the year?

June to December

  • Started a blog! In doing so realized food photography is a “thing” that I know very little about. I’m trying though!

021

  • Celebrated my 28th B-day while visiting my parents in  New York.

Z and K Shadows

  • Went to my first-ever family reunion.

051

  • Finally got around to engagement pictures!

DSC_4278

  • Finally found a wedding location! St. Lucia , December 2013.

045

  • Spent a week with my folks in NY for Thanksgiving and ran a Turkey Trot with Z and Mom.

053

  • Took Z to NYC for the first time.

    Z top of the rock central park

  • Hosted not one, but TWO Christmas celebrations at our house.

133

Pretty successful I’d say. Now, how does that compare to the goals I set for myself back in June? Let’s take a look…

  • Venture to my parents’ house in NY and go wine-tasting at Millbrook Vineyards
    My parents love wine too so this was an easy one. Check!
  • Run a 5K with Z
    We did three.
  • Run the marathon relay at the Baltimore Running Festival
    Didn’t get around to this one. 2013 perhaps?
  • Go to a bed & breakfast
    I’d say our overnight at the Mismlyn Inn counts.
  • Pretend to have a green thumb and plant something in my flower boxes and tree planters.
    Although I decorated them, the flower boxes remain empty. Fail.
  • Take advantage of my library card—read, read, read.
    I slacked in the regular variety, but discovered my love of audiobooks.
  • Pick a destination for our destination wedding
    Done!
  • Continue to grow and develop this blog into something I’m really proud of.
    An ongoing goal.

Not all goals were accomplished 100% but I still feel successful regardless. 2013 will be a big year as Z finishes his degree, we potentially change our housing situation and wedding planning starts full force. A lot of exciting adventures to come….stick around and follow along!

