Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Despite two Christmas celebrations, Z and I still managed to fit in a few workouts. Gotta stay active to balance out the wine and delicious desserts!

Sunday

We haven’t done a morning workout in awhile but I happened to get up before my alarm on Sunday and found myself wide awake and energized.

We started with an 8-minute warm up from Carrots ‘N’ Cake. It was part of a larger 28-minute circuit so if you’re interested definitely head on over and check it out.

image

This was a great way to get the muscles moving and heart rate up before tackling a holiday-themed Slim Sanity workout.

image

Due to time constraints we were able to get through the first set three times, and the others twice.

Tuesday- Merry Christmas!

Continuing the tradition started on Thanksgiving, Christmas morning began with a run.

I broke out some fun socks for the occasion…

image

We took our usual route along the water. And although hard to see in this picture, passed reindeer clad boats in the process.

2012-12-25_07-10-49_215

Wednesday

I’ve been really into morning yoga recently. I find it so rewarding to roll out of bed and stretch everything before starting my day. I’m not talking an hour long class or anything, but rather a simple 7-10 minute series of stretching postures that you can do right in your own home.

I stumbled upon videos from yoga instructor Tara Stiles, which are really great. Here’s the one we did on Wednesday:

Tara Stiles has great instructional videos. Start your morning with a stretch!

Thursday

We did it. Jumped on the bandwagon. 12-29-2012 9-46-50 AM

Thanks to a Living Social deal, Z and I headed to an introductory CrossFit class Thursday evening. I’m planning a whole post on my thoughts and experiences, but just know that it was intense, it kicked my butt, and gave me a better workout in 7 minutes 51 seconds than in any of the 20+ minute circuits I’ve done recently.

Friday

I woke up feeling the effects of CrossFit and felt that a good stretch was necessary. Back to our old friend Tara Stiles for our favorite morning routine:

Z and I use this as a go-to when in need of a good stretch.

QUESTION OF THE DAY: Do you make a point to workout during the holidays (Thanksgiving? X-mas? New Years?) or take the day off?

