Tags

, , , , , ,

After an afternoon in Virginia wine country, we arrived at The Mimslyn Inn shortly before 4pm.

Our Groupon deal was $89 for a night’s stay in one of their “Historic Rooms”, usually $150.

The Mimslyn Inn was built in 1930 as a luxury country get-a-way for wealthy Washington socialites. It sits up on a hill right off of Main Street Luray.

108

Walking in the lobby felt like a step back in time. Holiday decorations were up and a fire was in the fireplace.

109

We checked it and headed up to our room, which Z and I felt left a bit to be desired (I forgot to take a picture, but this is the one they have on the website:…)

image

The room and bathroom were pretty small and much to my dismay there was no in-room coffee pot! Gasp! This was made worse by the fact that coffee wasn’t served in the lobby until 7am. For an early riser like myself this was an inconvenience. We just reminded ourselves that we only were paying $89/night…

I mentioned in my last “Weekly Workout Recap” that after we were settled we went for a run on the paved trail through town. Luray is a quaint small town with shops and B&Bs lining Main Street.

After our run, Z and I showered and made ourselves presentable before heading downstairs to the Inn’s fancy (aka expensive) restaurant “Circa ‘31”.

095

It was a fixed price menu with your choice of appetizer, entrée and dessert. Z and I ended up splitting one meal between the two of us and with that many courses it was more than enough food.

The picture quality isn’t great, but the food sure was:

PicMonkey Collage- circa 31

Starting at the top:
Amuse of sweet potato soup, lump crab cake with sautéed bacon and spinach, duck breast with asparagus and sweet potato cake, chocolate pie with raspberry glaze, homemade merengue mints dipped in chocolate.

This was my first time having duck and it was enjoyable. Not gonna lie, I felt like such a grown-up ordering it. The sweet potato cake accompaniment was my favorite part, flavorful and creamy. I certainly cannot leave out the chocolate pie. Although it appeared mousse-like, it was actually thick and decadent.

Z and I had a lovely meal and the best part was we didn’t even have to leave the building.

Next stop, Luray Caverns!

