Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s been a tradition in my family to head to a tree farm, usually the Saturday after Thanksgiving, and cut down our own Christmas tree.

PicMonkey Collage-xmas tree

The living room at my parents’ house has pretty high ceilings so we would always get a tall one. We’d bring along the dog and let her run around exploring all the fun smells.

In fact when my brother and I were home last week we were able to join in the annual tree cutting:

tree cutting

Once back in MD, we needed out own tree so Z and I headed up to Mt. Carmel Tree Farm in Parkton, MD. They claimed to have lots of cut your own trees as well as complimentary hot cider. If that wasn’t enough there was even a $5 off coupon on their website. I can never pass up a good coupon!

(Sidenote: when did trees get so expensive???)

We arrived at the farm only to be warned that their selection was mostly tiny trees. We decided to take our chances seeing as how our downtown row home wouldn’t allow for much more than that.

083

082

I was a bit disappointed with the selection. They were in fact pretty tiny trees that could probably use a year or two grow. After wandering around for a bit we came across this seven foot gem. Tall and narrow with lots of room for ornaments—exactly what we needed.088

095

Since it was a small little thing the woman working there took pity and, along with the coupon, only charged us $25! Better than the $40+ they usually are!

Waiting at home we had a new stand along with new lights and ornaments that I had gotten while shopping with my Mom. Found these at Target: $15 for all those ornaments. A great starter kit!

107

The ceremonious first ornament (red…shocking)!

109

The result:

116

118

All the ornaments are from Target. I hope over the years Z and I can build up a collection of our very own special/memorable ornaments.

Question of the day: Where do you get your Christmas tree? Farm? Stand? Other?

