Tags

, , , , , ,

I had put this recipe from Iowa Girl Eats onto my “Dinner for Two” Pinterest board a couple of weeks ago. The name alone sounded delicious so I gathered the necessary ingredients and decided to give it a try.

It was easy AND tasty. Here’s what was involved:

STEP 1: Cook quinoa in chicken broth. This takes about 15 minutes. Once all the liquid has been absorbed, transfer to a bowl and allow to cool. In the mean time….

006

STEP 2: Combine apple (I used 1/2 a small fuji), dried cherries (the recipe calls for cranberries), and almonds (I used the sliced ones I had on hand but chopping whole raw ones would work as well).

004001

STEP 3: Cook sausage. Not something I normally eat but I trusted the recipe and went with it.

003

STEP 4: Combine ingredients into large bowl. Stir. Enjoy.

008

THE VERDICT:  Delicious! The blend of flavors hit the spot. The maple in the sausage was a nice touch and paired nicely with the sweet apple and tart cherries. I’m also a texture person so enjoyed the combination of crunchy almonds and crisp apples mixed between the quinoa.

Head on over to Iowa Girl Eats for the recipe!

