Tags

, , , ,

In an attempt to fit in visits with both our families during this week’s holiday we planned to venture to Cumberland, MD to spend time with Z’s family for an early Thanksgiving before heading up to visit my parents in New York for the rest of the week.

imageSaturday morning we headed 2.5hrs west to Cumberland. We picked up a new audiobook, Tina Fey’s Bossypants.

For those who may not know it is a collection of stories and thoughts from her life (not simply a plain old autobiography) and she narrates the audiobook herself. Let me just say it is phenomenal. It’s basically like listening to 5 discs worth of her stand-up. It kept us entertained and laughing the entire time.

We arrived at Z’s Grandparents house around lunchtime and headed down into town so Z could get his favorite Coney Island hot dogs.

The small shop has been there since 1918 and when you step inside you are instantly transported back in time. Sit wherever you want, no menus only a handwritten sign on the wall, friendly staff who you can tell will know their regulars by name. Z was quite a happy camper after his chili dogs, fries and chocolate milk on ice (which they refer to as a “Ricky”). I kept it simple with a ham and cheese sandwich. Fancy, I know.

After lunch we headed back to the house and relaxed, chatting and catching up.

Not long after Z’s mom Kristi began prepping her famous homemade pizza for dinner. Z has always raved about his mom’s pizza and I remember her making it one of the first times he took me to visit his parents.

021

One of her signature varieties: hamburger and olive.

029

The other: classic pepperoni.

026

My stomach was being a bit temperamental and not quite up to meat lovers status so I made myself a personal pan pizza.

my pizza

She whipped up a Cesar salad (another of Z’s faves) to go with it. There is just something about homemade pizza dough/crust that is far superior to any store bought variety. 032

For dessert: Grandma’s chocolate chip cookies. They are without a doubt the THE best. She makes up a fresh batch every time we visit. They were choc full of chocolate chips, just the way I like it. Mmmmm…033

Since Z and I are 27/28 going on 90 we took our contently full selves to bed at 9:30.

Stay tuned for Part 2!

QUESTION OF THE DAY: Does your mom have a meal that you think she makes better than anyone else?

