Tags

, , , , , , , ,

There are a lot of foods I will give up in an attempt at healthy eating. There are a lot of foods I try and avoid because of the artificial/overly processed ingredients.

That being said, I will NEVER give up animal crackers. I’m not sure when exactly my love affair with them started but we are in a long-term committed relationship and I don’t care who knows it.

This is me:

Stauffer’s Animal Crackers from Scott Brignac on Vimeo.

They are the perfect little snack: not a cookie, not a cracker, a slight hint of sweet but not overwhelming.

Not all animal crackers are created equal however. The key is Stouffer’s brand. Anything else is just a wannabe imitation. You can find these lovely red bags in the $1 section at Target.

061

Back when we were dating Z picked me up from work and surprised me with this little passenger:

005

Knowing they were my favorite he had made a special trip to Target to get them for me. I knew right then he was a keeper.

Not long after he was hooked as well. Animal crackers became a staple of every care package I mailed to him in Egypt.

Video call snapshot 21

Although I eat them straight up, here are some other fun uses for them:

Funfetti Cake Dip (via Eat Yourself Skinny): When it comes to desserts cake isn’t really my thing but funfetti has a way of convincing me otherwise. Cake mix, yogurt, cool whip, that’s it! Might have to try this…

2

Lowfat Animal Cracker Banana Pudding (via Cooking With my Kid) All that’s required: banana pudding mix (which I already have sitting around), milk, greek yogurt, vanilla extract and bananas. Sounds delightful if you ask me. The

https://i1.wp.com/www.cookingwithmykid.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/BananaPudding_062011_LO3.jpg

Wild Animal Mix (via Cooking Light) A winning combination: 2 cups animal crackers, 3/4 cup dried blueberries, 3/4 cup roasted pecan halves, 2 1/2 cups air-popped popcorn. 1/2 cup mix = 104 calories, 2.4g fiber

https://i0.wp.com/img4-3.cookinglight.timeinc.net/i/2011/09/1109p43-wild-animal-mix-l.jpg

So I would just like to say, run, don’t walk, to your nearest Target and get yourself a bag today.

 

QUESTION OF THE DAY: What is your guilty pleasure food?

 

