Tags

, , ,

Z and I have a few breakfast options that we go between. I used this weekend while he was away to experiment with a new one.

On Pinterest I had found this “Overnight Slow Cooker Pumpkin Pie Steel Cut Oats: No Sugar Added” recipe from SkinnyMs.com. image

I recently acquired a hand-me-down crock pot. Anything with at least a functioning lid would have been a step up (mine met a tragic end on a stone floor) but this one is even programmable!

I picked up some slow cooker liners at the store last week and I highly recommend. No one likes to sit there scrubbing away at the dried on food at the bottom of the crock pot. These allow you to avoid that all together!

009

STEP 1:  Add 1 cup of oats (the recipe called for steel cut, but I used regular old fashioned).

010

STEP 2: Add 3 cups of water and 1 cup pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling).

STEP 3: Season with 1tsp vanilla extract and 2tsp pumpkin pie spice. 013

STEP 4: Set to low and go to bed (aka leave for 8 hours).

015

STEP 5: Wake up. Stir. Eat!

Sweetener can be added before or after cooking. I waited until after and drizzled on some maple syrup. The recipe recommends honey or vanilla liquid stevia.

020

THE VERDICT: Warm and delicious. With the high moisture content of the pumpkin this became more of a pumpkin porridge than oatmeal. Besides the maple syrup I stirred in some dried cranberries and slivered almonds.

The best part was having breakfast ready and waiting when I got up!

Along with the oatmeal I enjoyed a honeycrisp with peanut and almond butter and pumpkin pie spice. Mmmm….delicious!

022

QUESTION OF THE DAY: Have you ever attempted a breakfast in the crockpot? If so, what?

