Tags

, , , ,

I arrived at work at 7:45 yesterday morning. At that time there was some rain, but nothing crazy.

8:00am:

030

An announcement was made that the city was shutting down and anyone who wasn’t staying at their place of employment to ride out the storm was to be gone by 1. As “essential employees” we worked through the morning but headed home at 12:30.

12:30pm:

033

Z and I made lunch and watched this week’s Amazing Race, all the while watching the poor little birds out our window. They were forever grateful to us for refilling the feeder and hung on for dear life with each gust of wind.

2:00pm:

034

I spent the rest of the afternoon catching up on blog writing, browsing Pinterest and reading about the poor unfortunate souls without power in my Facebook newsfeed.

Dinner time rolled around with some accompaniment:

6:00pm

IMG_20121029_181537

Dinner consisted of “Orchard Turkey Burgers” from Iowa Girl Eats with homemade sweet potato fries. I would have taken a picture but they lacked stage presence. I assure you it was good.

We proceeded to watch a few episodes of How I Met Your Mother as the rain and wind picked up a bit outside.

Our new favorite dessert made an appearance: S’Mores.

7:30pm

2012-10-29_19-19-25_981

Set the toaster oven to 350 and cook until the marshmallows get slightly puffy with a little brown tint.  The perfect warm treat on a chilly rainy night.

Shortly thereafter I noticed the window ledge in our kitchen leaking. My solution? Put a plant right underneath! That aloe needed to be watered soon anyway. Let’s hope that is the only casualty of the storm.

Work is closed again today but I must report. Maybe Z and I will have to tour through Fells to see whether or not the harbor behaved itself and stayed where it’s supposed to.

Hope everyone made it through the storm safe and sound!

