Tags

, , , , , ,

Halloween is not normally a holiday I get overly excited about. This year, however, I feel like I’m more in the holiday spirit than usual. I think the following things have contributed to this:

For starters, Denise has prepared some wonderfully delicious festive treats for us at work lately:

Chai-Spiced Pumpkin Cookies363

Red Velvet Cake Eyeballs

2012-10-28_13-27-57_540

Secondly, I did a bit more fall decorating. Starting with one of my favorites of the holiday season: cinnamon scented pine cones.

035

In addition, Z picked me out these fun flowers while at the store last weekend.

036

Of course there were the pumpkin workouts…

image

Saturday night rolled around and it was time to carve our pumpkin pals. I’m the kind of person who likes to have an exact stencil to go by. You only get one shot and free-handing seems risky! In brainstorming we came up with the simple, yet appropriate, idea to do our initials.

I went ahead and made my own pattern in a fun curvy font, taping it to the pumpkin as a guide.

003

Z on the other hand just went for it. Sums up our personalities really.

004

I had a small problem where I lost a piece that wasn’t supposed to be carved out. Turns out it was nothing that a little paperclip couldn’t fix.

009

We don’t really have an ideal location for pumpkin display in our house. The living room lacks a window sill and has frosted glass and the second floor is a bit high to be noticeable. Therefore we decided to set them on the stoop but only when we’re down in the living room to supervise. It’s sad that we can’t trust people to leave them alone but being so close to the Fells Point bars it’s an all too real possibility.

Pumpkin carving success!

010

All that’s left to celebrate this holiday is finishing our costumes for Amy’s party later tonight. We had a last minute change in plans and I still have a few odds and ends to finish up. What are we going to be? Well you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to find out!

Happy Halloween everybody!

Question of the day: Do you usually stick to stencils when it comes to pumpkin carving? Or choose to tackle your own design?

