Tags

, , ,

I haven’t made spaghetti squash since last fall so I decided it was long past due. I planned it for one of my days off seeing as how it needs almost an hour of oven time before it’s ready. There’s no way I’d have that type of patience during the week.

I used the recipe for “Spaghetti Squash and Meatballs” from Iowa Girl Eats.

image

025

Step 1: Use a knife to pierce squash on all sides then stick in the microwave for 3 minutes.

027

Step 2: Slice in half length-wise and remove seeds. Season with olive oil, salt and pepper. Bake at 400 for 50 minutes.

037

Step 3: Let squash cool for 10 minutes. During this time prepare your meat of choice. While the original recipe used meatballs I went with chicken.

Step 4: Use fork to scrape out “spaghetti.” I put both halves-worth in a bowl and gave it a good stir.

047

Half of it I put back in my squash “bowl”, the other half went in a tupperware for lunch tomorrow.

Step 5:  Top with meat, sauce and mozzarella cheese. Broil until cheese is nice and melty.

048

Step 6: Top with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese and basil and enjoy!

051

This was so tasty! With sauce and cheese I didn’t miss the pasta at all! A bit time consuming overall, but with simple enough steps that I’d definitely make it again in the future.

