Tags

, , , , ,

It’s been vacation recap central around here lately but just as I’ve had to return to real life, so does the blog.

Therefore, I’d like to share with you my recent dinner creation, one that I’m particularly proud of.

Knowing that we were leaving for five days, Z and I made every attempt to use up all the food in the fridge that we could before our trip. By the last day we were limited in options.

2012-10-11_16-30-35_90

As someone who had never particularly liked to cook, I give myself a gold star for looking at what we had an whipping up “lasagna for two.”

When you think of lasagna you tend to picture a large casserole creation. I however put together a mini-skinny version.

Despite the bare fridge we had all the needed ingredients: lasagna noodles, pasta sauce, not to mention ricotta that we needed to use up. In addition I decided to throw in the leftover roasted butternut squash I had in the freezer.

Step 1: Boil noodles.

I didn’t have the instant ready-to-bake kind so I had to go the boiling route. Interestingly enough, the serving size for these noodles is only two!

023

Step 2: Prepare ricotta mixture. 

I used roughly 1/2 cup of ricotta and added to that a sprinkle of pepper, basil and Italian seasoning. Throw in whatever your heart desires!

028

Step 3: Layer

1- Pasta sauce

2-Two noodles

3- Ricotta mixture & butternut squash

4- Two noodles

5-Pasta sauce & mozzerella

PicMonkey Collage-lasagna 2

With only two layers of noodles and a thin layer of ricotta it barely takes up half of the dish!

035

Step 4: Bake

I didn’t write down the exact settings I used (silly me) but I would guess it was somewhere around 400 for 10 minutes. Once again, since it’s such a small portion it doesn’t need much time.  

039

Step 5: Enjoy

We were able to throw together an accompanying salad with the remaining perishables.

041

I certainly have come a long way in terms of domesticity. I just “threw together” a lasagna. That’s just crazy!

What Italian meal would be complete without a glass of wine? Z picked this up last time he went to the store:

026

It was a nice and light zinfandel (ice cubes in the wine…classy, right?).

I had never heard of The Skinny Vine so I went and looked around on their website.

image

The company makes three varieties with 25-35% fewer calories than your regular wine.

The website lists the nutrition facts for our “Thin Zin” as:image

Not bad! I look forward to sampling their other varieties as well.

Question of the day:  What is your go-to meal when you’re low on groceries?

