Tags

, , , , ,

Another recipe from my “Dinner for Two” Pinterest board!

image

The original is from SkinnyMs.com and features butternut squash and eggplant. I haven’t had butternut squash in ages so figured a pizza would be a delicious way to incorporate it.

Step 1:  Acquire squash.

001

I read yesterday on Iowa Girl Eats that when choosing a squash you should look for one that is long and narrow and preferably heavy for its size.

Step 2:  First, cut squash in half and scoop out seeds. Then, dice into small chunks and set aside in large mixing bowl.

003

*Note: one squash is A LOT. I only used about half for this recipe and put the rest in the freezer.

Step 3:  Acquire eggplant.

007

Isn’t this little guy fun? Z and I came across it at the Farmer’s Market. It’s called a Zebra Eggplant. The sign there said that unlike a regular eggplant it is far less bitter and therefore requires little to no salting before cooking.

I opted for the no salting route and proceeded to add it to the bowl of squash.

009

Step 4: Toss vegetables in olive oil, salt and pepper and spread out on a cookie sheet. Bake at 450 for 30 minutes. 011

Step 5: Prepare pizza. I’ve been really enjoying this Boboli Whole Wheat Thin Crust pizza lately. We’ve bought it a few times now and it’s so convenient!

015

Top crust with pizza sauce, roasted squash and eggplant and finish it off with a sprinkle of goat cheese.

019

Step 5:  Bake pizza for ~10min.

Step 6: Serve with a side salad. Ours included romaine, cucumber, tomato and sunflower seeds.

020

Thoughts: This pizza was soooooo good. In my opinion it was the goat cheese that made it. But then again, goat cheese is usually my favorite part of any dish. The roasting of the veggies took awhile, but once they were done the meal came together quite quickly. A success overall. I highly recommend.
QUESTION OF THE DAY: What’s your favorite way to eat butternut squash?

 

