Tags

, , , , , , ,

As I mentioned yesterday, I had ricotta cheese to use up from a previous dinner recipe. So I thought I’d share that too: Peach, Basil & Ricotta Flatbread. This recipe was another Pinterest find! Seriously I don’t know what I did before that website existed…

This original recipe can be found here: Chesapeake Taste. It’s an interesting blend of flavors complete with ripe peaches and fresh basil. Even though I’m welcoming fall with open arms I am hanging on to the summer flavor combinations.

It was easy to assemble:

Step 1: Make your own balsamic reduction.

That sounded quite intimidating until I read further and realized it was a simple matter of heating balsamic vinegar. Totally do-able.

009

011

The instructions called for heating until boiling and then simmering after until reduced by half. No idea if I did it right, but I figured it would taste good regardless.

Step 2: Preheat oven to 425 and prepare the flatbread base.

I’ve recently fallen in love with “FlatOut” brand flatbreads.

image

My mom introduced me to their newest variety which are sandwich folders (yes, I know it’s a gimmick but I’m all about it!). Spread each with a thin layer of ricotta cheese.

012

Step 3:  Cut peach into thin slices and layer on flatbread.

013

015

Step 4: Bake 10 minutes.

Step 5: Sprinkle with chopped basil, sea salt and black pepper and drizzle with balsamic reduction.

020

Z was in charge of making a salad accompaniment.

022

A nice light and tasty dinner for those wanting to hang on to summer just a little bit longer!

 

