Tags

, , ,

Today I thought I’d once again highlight one of my favorite photos.

This one was taken in October of 2009 at Long Beach Island, NJ.

fri sunrise 5

My parents rented an oceanfront beach house for the week and I drove up from Maryland to join them for a couple of days. The house had an amazing roofdeck!

beach in front of house 3

Now you may be thinking…the beach? in October? Yes, that’s correct.

I actually grew up going to LBI every summer. My family always rented the exact same house right on the beach. Sadly in recent years the house was leveled and a Mc Mansionwas built in its place.

me and beach

There then came a time when the summer crowds were no longer appealing. It was then that my family started heading down in the early fall. Sure we lost out on tanning time, and a bunch of restaurants and shops close for the off-season, but having the island more to yourself is an enjoyable experience.

Perhaps I’ll do an extended Long Beach Island post one day, but for now, enjoy the rising sun!

