Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have a delicious breakfast recipe to share with you today!

Z and I have a series of breakfast “usuals” which we rotate through. We rarely divert from them, despite talking about how we should.

This morning I browsed through my “Starting the Day Off Right” breakfast-themed board on Pinterest in an attempt to find something new to try.

I came across the recipe for “Whipped Ricotta Banana Oatmeal” from Iowa Girl Eats.

015

This would be a great way to use up the ricotta we had left over from dinner the other night, seeing as how I had no other immediate plans for it.

Step 1: Assemble ingredients.

017

Step 2: Bring 1 1/3 cups of water to a boil. Add 2/3 cup of oats and cook for 5 minutes (we doubled the original recipe in order to make two servings).

018

Step 3: While cooking, add in one banana, sliced (I added after 3 or so minutes of cooking). Then….whisk whisk whisk!

021

Step 4: Once the oats have fully cooked, add in 1/2 cup ricotta and continue whisking. Add in vanilla extract, cinnamon, chia seeds, and stevia to taste.

022

The result is a light and fluffy banana-ey concoction. This breakfast combines oats with fiber and staying power, chia seeds with their healthy fats and ricotta with protein!

025

Z and I ate this along with a piece of homemade speldt toast (thanks to his mom) and peanut butter. It was a warm way to start a chilly morning (it’s currently 54 degrees!).

Question of the day: What is your favorite warm breakfast for a chilly day?

